COMPANY PROFILE / CELL CULTURE TECHNOLOGY
FUJIFILM Biotechnologies
Fujifilm's contract antibody manufacturer, lining up 20,000-litre culture tanks
FUJIFILM Biotechnologies (legal entity name FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies) is a CDMO made up of several Fujifilm subsidiaries. Since June 2025 it has operated under the brand name "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies", but, as Fujifilm announced, the legal names have not changed: in FUJIFILM Holdings' Annual Securities Report for the year to March 2026, the companies in the U.S., UK and Denmark still appear as "FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies". Its main business is contract manufacturing of antibody drugs in large culture tanks of animal cells, and in North Carolina eight 20,000-litre tanks came on stream in 2025. Using only FUJIFILM Holdings' statutory disclosures and the company's official announcements, this profile sets out how much is being invested and in what, whose drugs it makes, and where it is stumbling.
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies in 30 seconds, and where it stands in cell culture
- The logo and how the name is written
- Where the company sits in the cell culture landscape
- Scale (with the parent, Fujifilm, kept brief)
- Resources committed to cell culture
- What it has done so far
- What comes next
- What the company is aiming for in cell culture
- Map of cell culture partnerships
- Technologies, products and services
- The risks this company carries
- Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit
1. FUJIFILM Biotechnologies in 30 seconds, and where it stands in cell culture
BiotechnologiesSeveral entities in the U.S., UK and Denmark. Brand name FUJIFILM Biotechnologies
and DenmarkWhich country hosts head office functions could not be confirmed from primary sources
(contract manufacturing)Core is antibody production in animal cells. Also takes on cell therapy
tanks (U.S.)Plan to add eight more of the same size in 2028
10 years, over US$3 billionSigned April 2025. Contract manufacture of antibody drugs
Companies involved in cell culture fall into three broad types: contract development and manufacturing organisations (CDMOs), suppliers of equipment and media, and developers of cell therapies. FUJIFILM Biotechnologies is a CDMO with no secondary type Sourced. Of the two meanings of "cell culture", its revenue comes mainly from (1) growing animal cells to make antibodies and other proteins, while (2) cell therapy, where the cells themselves are the product, is taken on at sites in California and Texas. What makes this confusing is that the same Fujifilm group has separate companies that sell culture media (FUJIFILM Biosciences and FUJIFILM Wako Pure Chemical) and one that makes iPS cells (FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics). Fujifilm as a whole is involved in all three types, but FUJIFILM Biotechnologies, the subject of this article, is purely a contract manufacturer.
2. The logo and how the name is written
The logo is a trademark of Fujifilm. We have not recreated it with generated imagery;
the logo (SVG) shown in the header of the company's official website is placed here as img/fujifilm_biotechnologies_logo.svg.
The name shown in the logo is the brand name, "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies".
A note on names: on 2 June 2025 Fujifilm announced that FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies "will be known as FUJIFILM Biotechnologies", stating in the same release that "the Company's legal name will not change". In the Annual Securities Report for the year to March 2026, the affiliated companies are still listed as FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies U.S.A., Inc. / North Carolina, Inc. / Texas, LLC / California, Inc. / UK Limited / Denmark ApS. This article therefore uses the business brand "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies" in headings and text, and the legal name "FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies" only where it refers to a legal entity. In the same announcement, the media maker FUJIFILM Irvine Scientific was renamed FUJIFILM Biosciences (with the legal name changing in January 2026); it is a separate company.
Official site: https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/3. Where the company sits in the cell culture landscape
The warning at the bottom of the left-hand box, "loses money if plants sit idle", shows up in this company's numbers too. According to Fujifilm's results presentation, the Bio CDMO business's EBITDA margin excluding one-off costs was about 10% overall in the year to March 2026, but it splits sharply: the mid-20s per cent for large-scale facilities and minus 10% for small and mid-scale facilities Sourced. The big tanks make money when they are full; the smaller facilities are not making money.
4. Scale (with the parent, Fujifilm, kept brief)
Financials for FUJIFILM Biotechnologies alone are not published. What can be confirmed are the figures for the "Bio CDMO" business in FUJIFILM Holdings' disclosures, which in effect show the size of this company.
| Parent: FUJIFILM Holdings | Details |
|---|---|
| Registered office | 2-26-30 Nishi-Azabu, Minato-ku, Tokyo (nearest contact address: 9-7-3 Akasaka, Minato-ku) |
| Listing | Tokyo Stock Exchange Prime Market (securities code 4901) |
| Consolidated revenue | ¥3,357.0 billion (year to March 2026) / ¥3,195.8 billion (year to March 2025) |
| Consolidated employees | 73,526 (31 March 2026; Healthcare segment 22,772) |
| Bio CDMO business (¥ billion) | Year to March 2025 | Year to March 2026 | Q1, year to March 2027 | Year to March 2027, company forecast |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 219.5 | 254.1 | 57.7 | 280.0 |
| One-off costs | −18.0 | −16.5 | - | - |
| EBITDA margin excluding one-off costs | Low teens | About 10% | - | - |
From the year to March 2027, Fujifilm moved its contract process development and manufacturing business for cell therapies using iPS cells from "LS Solutions" to "Bio CDMO" Sourced. On this restated basis, Bio CDMO revenue for the year to March 2026 was ¥257.2 billion, ¥3.1 billion more than the ¥254.1 billion in the table above. The company's forecast for the year to March 2027 was originally ¥300.0 billion, but in August 2026 it was cut to ¥280.0 billion. The amount of operating profit for the Bio CDMO business, revenue for FUJIFILM Biotechnologies alone, and cell therapy revenue are not published Not yet confirmed.
5. Resources committed to cell culture
As in every profile in this series, we check four kinds of resource (people, money, external investments and acquisitions, and ties with universities) and show whether each could be confirmed from primary sources.
| Type of resource | Details | Status |
|---|---|---|
| People | The company says it has more than 5,000 employees. The section of the Annual Securities Report on major facilities gives, by entity, Denmark 2,177, UK 1,029, North Carolina 777, Texas 744, U.S.A. 545 and California 209 (31 March 2026, excluding temporary staff), 5,481 in total Our calculation. Dedicated cell therapy headcount is not disclosed | Confirmed |
| Money (facilities) | Book value of property, plant and equipment and similar assets by entity: Denmark ¥696.6 billion, North Carolina ¥647.2 billion (of which construction in progress ¥367.7 billion), UK ¥162.4 billion, Texas ¥87.5 billion, U.S.A. ¥41.5 billion and California ¥20.3 billion. The new UK building is a total investment of about £400 million. Annual capital expenditure for the Bio CDMO business alone is not disclosed (¥426.2 billion for the whole Healthcare segment, year to March 2026) | Partly confirmed |
| Money (R&D) | R&D in the Healthcare segment was ¥53.3 billion (year to March 2026). R&D for the Bio CDMO business is not disclosed | Not confirmed |
| External investments and acquisitions | Acquisitions of MSD Biologics (UK) and Diosynth RTP in 2011, Biogen's Danish manufacturing subsidiary in 2019, and Atara Biotherapeutics' cell therapy manufacturing site in 2022. No investments in start-ups are mentioned in primary sources | Acquisitions confirmed / investments not confirmed |
| University and research ties | No joint research with universities on cell culture technology is mentioned in primary sources. The technical partners named on the official website are RoosterBio (a company) and FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics, a group company | Not confirmed |
The company has both large stainless-steel tanks and single-use bioreactors. The new plant in Holly Springs, North Carolina, has eight 20,000-litre tanks, while the new UK building has 2,000 L and 5,000 L single-use bioreactors with a total capacity of up to 19,000 L Sourced. A single 20,000 L tank holds more than the whole new UK building, and suits high-volume products that run the same cells through the same process again and again. Single-use bioreactors allow fast changeover between products and suit clinical supply and small to mid-sized commercial products.
The margin gap seen in section 3 (mid-20s per cent for large-scale, minus 10% for small and mid-scale) can be read as a direct reflection of the difference in utilisation between these two kinds of equipment Not yet confirmed. From the materials side, stainless-steel tanks carry a heavy burden of cleaning, sterilisation and validation but produce large volumes per batch, while single-use bioreactors are constrained by leachables from the plastic film and an upper limit on vessel size. The company's statement that it has won work for "continuous" manufacturing in the UK is worth watching as a third way of getting volume without big tanks.
6. What it has done so far
| When | What happened | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| March 2011 | Fujifilm acquires MSD Biologics (UK) and Diosynth RTP (now FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies UK and others) | Entry into contract biopharmaceutical manufacturing |
| May 2015 | Fujifilm acquires Cellular Dynamics International (now FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics) | An iPS cell manufacturer joins the group |
| August 2019 | Acquires Biogen (Denmark) Manufacturing (now FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies Denmark) | Gains a large antibody manufacturing site |
| April 2022 | Acquires Atara Biotherapeutics' cell therapy manufacturing site (now FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies California) | Entry into commercial cell therapy manufacturing |
| June 2023 | Opens a sales and customer support office in Tokyo | A point of contact for customers in Japan and Asia. Not a manufacturing site |
| FY2024 (year to March 2025) | Capacity at the Danish site expanded. Small and mid-scale equipment in Texas, whose operations had been adjusted in the previous year, returned to operation in FY2025 | Drivers of revenue growth in the year to March 2026 |
| April 2025 | Manufacturing agreement for antibody drugs with Regeneron, worth more than US$3 billion over 10 years | A major customer secured for the new plant |
| 2 June 2025 | Brand name changed to FUJIFILM Biotechnologies (legal name unchanged) | Fujifilm's life sciences companies united under "Partners for Life" |
| September 2025 | Opening ceremony for the large North Carolina plant, with eight 20,000 L tanks in operation. In the same month, a contract with argenx to manufacture efgartigimod drug substance | Becoming one of the largest sites in North America (once the 2028 expansion is complete, per the company's own research) |
| February 2026 | Opens an antibody drug substance manufacturing building and process development laboratory in the UK (total about £400 million) | More small and mid-scale single-use capacity |
| April 2026 | The contract cell therapy business using iPS cells is reclassified into "Bio CDMO". Quality control laboratory opened in Denmark | Contract cell therapy work managed as part of the CDMO business |
| July 2026 | The Holly Springs plant is selected as one of seven participants in the U.S. FDA's "PreCheck" pilot programme | The release names argenx, Johnson & Johnson and Regeneron as customers of the plant |
| August 2026 | President and CEO replaced (the chief operating officer also becomes president). Fujifilm discloses a slower-than-expected ramp-up at the new U.S. site and unplanned shutdowns at small and mid-scale facilities to deal with regulators, and cuts its Bio CDMO revenue forecast | Entering a phase of rebuilding the manufacturing organisation |
7. What comes next
tanks in 2028Sixteen in total once complete. The Annual Securities Report says the start-up is being brought forward
year to March 2027The company expects group free cash flow to turn positive
Small/mid-scale about US$350 millionAs stated in the company's results presentation
Fujifilm describes the year to March 2027 as "still a period of up-front investment" (our translation from the Japanese), while saying it is bringing forward the start-up of the second phase of investment in North Carolina Sourced. The improvement measures it lists are the launch of a new management team, shorter process development timelines, capabilities for ADCs and bispecific antibodies, continuous manufacturing at the new UK facility, and the roll-out of digital transformation and AI.
None of the following appears in the primary sources Not yet confirmed.
The amount of operating profit for the Bio CDMO business; revenue and orders for cell therapy (California and Texas); the sites and duration of the unplanned shutdowns; the value and term of the contract with the Johnson & Johnson group; and the investment amount for the second phase in North Carolina. Of the figures for Fujifilm's total CDMO investment that circulate in press coverage, this article uses only those it could confirm in the company's own statutory filings and official releases (over US$10 billion across life sciences over 15 years, and more than £5 billion in the CDMO business over the past decade).
8. What the company is aiming for in cell culture
This section goes beyond what the company says directly. It sets out inferences that can be drawn from primary sources, each with its basis.
| What can be read | Primary evidence behind it | Category |
|---|---|---|
| Its aim is to be the home for high-volume production of large antibody products | Eight 20,000 L tanks in operation, with eight more planned. Long-term contracts with major companies: Regeneron, the Johnson & Johnson group and argenx | Inference |
| For now the profit pillar is large-scale facilities, with small and mid-scale being rebuilt | EBITDA margin of mid-20s per cent for large-scale and minus 10% for small and mid-scale (year to March 2026, excluding one-off costs) | Sourced |
| It is selling on a U.S.-based supply chain | It announced Holly Springs' participation in FDA PreCheck in the context of a programme "designed to strengthen America's pharmaceutical manufacturing capabilities" | Inference |
| Cell therapy is one outlet for the group-wide iPS cell strategy | The official website describes its iPS cell contract work as a partnership with FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics, and in April 2026 the contract iPS cell therapy business was reclassified into Bio CDMO | Inference |
| Cell therapy is a small field for now | The California entity that handles cell therapy has 209 employees and a book value of ¥20.3 billion, a small fraction of the large antibody sites. Cell therapy revenue is not disclosed | Inference |
The section of the Annual Securities Report on major facilities shows that of the North Carolina entity's book value of ¥647.2 billion, ¥367.7 billion is construction in progress, that is, facilities not yet completed Sourced. At the end of March 2026, in other words, a large part of the second phase of investment, due on stream in 2028, had already been built up. Then in August 2026 the company itself acknowledged that the new U.S. site was ramping up more slowly than expected. This article's reading is that the company's next few years will be decided largely by how quickly it can fill the 16 tanks in North Carolina Not yet confirmed. Cell therapy is probably best seen as the next field to be grown in the meantime.
9. Map of cell culture partnerships
10. Technologies, products and services
On its official website the company lists contract development and manufacture of biopharmaceuticals made in microbial, mammalian and baculovirus expression systems, vaccines, gene therapies and cell therapies Sourced. Those related to cell culture are summarised below.
| Service | Sites | What primary sources say |
|---|---|---|
| Antibodies and other products (large-scale) | Denmark / North Carolina (Holly Springs) | North Carolina has eight 20,000 L animal cell culture tanks, with eight more to be added in 2028. The company says it will have one of the largest drug substance capacities of any biologics CDMO site in North America (as of 25 September 2025, per the company's own research) |
| Antibodies and other products (small and mid-scale) | UK / Texas and others | The new UK building has 2,000 L and 5,000 L single-use bioreactors with up to 19,000 L in total, announced to start operating in the first half of 2026. The UK process development centre also handles continuous process development |
| Cell therapy | California (Thousand Oaks) / Texas (College Station) | Thousand Oaks is a plant of about 90,000 sq ft handling clinical and commercial manufacture of allogeneic T cells and CAR-T. Mesenchymal stem cells, haematopoietic stem cells and iPS cells (in partnership with FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics) are covered |
| Standardised manufacturing | All sites | An approach called "kojoX", which the company says aligns processes, procedures, systems and facility design across sites to speed technology transfer |
Fujifilm has co-developed with HORIBA a continuous electroporation device that inserts genes into cells during gene therapy manufacturing. According to the Annual Securities Report, it raises productivity about 100-fold compared with conventional chemical transfection using PEI reagent (Fujifilm's own research) Sourced. PEI (polyethylenimine) is a positively charged polymer that forms complexes with negatively charged DNA and carries it into cells: delivery by a material. Electroporation is physical delivery, using voltage to open temporary pores in the cell membrane, and may reduce problems of lot-to-lot variation and residual reagent Not yet confirmed. Which sites will use this device for contract manufacturing has not been disclosed.
11. The risks this company carries
| Risk | Substance | Category |
|---|---|---|
| Slow start-up of the new plant | In August 2026 the company said the new U.S. site was ramping up more slowly than expected, and cut its revenue forecast by ¥20.0 billion | Sourced |
| Dealing with regulators | Unplanned shutdowns occurred at small and mid-scale facilities to respond to regulatory audits. The sites have not been named | Sourced |
| Losses at small and mid-scale facilities | EBITDA margin excluding one-off costs of minus 10% (year to March 2026). Weak demand for early-stage contract work | Sourced |
| Dependence on large customers | North Carolina rests on long-term contracts with a handful of major companies, such as Regeneron (10 years, over US$3 billion). Changes in approval of or demand for customers' products feed straight into utilisation | Inference |
| Change of leadership | President and CEO replaced in August 2026. The company says there is no change to strategy, investment or customer programmes | Sourced |
| Large assets not yet in use | Construction in progress of ¥367.7 billion in North Carolina (end of March 2026). The longer start-up is delayed, the further the start of depreciation and the ramp-up of revenue drift apart | Inference |
12. Glossary
- CDMO
- A company that develops manufacturing methods for medicines and manufactures them under contract. See our explainer on CDMOs for more.
- Animal cell culture
- A method of having mammalian cells produce complex proteins such as antibodies.
- Bioreactor (culture tank)
- A vessel in which cells are grown. See our explainer on bioreactors for more.
- Single-use system
- An approach in which the inside of the bioreactor is a disposable plastic bag. See our explainer on single-use systems for more.
- EBITDA margin
- Earnings before depreciation (and interest and tax) as a share of revenue. A measure of the earning power of equipment-heavy businesses.
- Construction in progress
- Money spent on facilities that are still being built and not yet in use. Transferred to fixed assets on completion.
- iPS cells
- Stem cells made from body cells that can differentiate into many cell types. See our explainer on iPS cells for more.
- Electroporation
- A method of inserting genes into cells by applying a voltage that opens small pores in the cell membrane.

13. References
- FUJIFILM Holdings Annual Securities Report for the year ended March 2026 (in Japanese; filed 24 June 2026). History (the acquisitions), names of affiliated companies, Bio CDMO revenue, issues to be addressed, R&D activities (Regeneron, argenx, North Carolina, UK, HORIBA), major facilities (book value and headcount by entity), capital expenditure and headcount. https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf
- FUJIFILM Holdings Results presentation for the year ended March 2026 (in Japanese; 12 May 2026). Bio CDMO revenue, one-off costs and EBITDA margin, the segment reclassification, and the outlook for the year to March 2027. https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01113/teaserItems5/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2025q4_001j.pdf
- FUJIFILM Holdings Results presentation for Q1 of the year ending March 2027 (in Japanese; August 2026). Q1 Bio CDMO revenue, the forecast cut, the start-up of the new U.S. site, unplanned shutdowns, order intake and measures to strengthen the business. https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01114/teaserItems2/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2026q1_001jj.pdf
- FUJIFILM Corporation News release "Fujifilm Rebrands Life Sciences Companies to Strengthen Position as Strategic Partners for Life, Offering End-to-End Solutions" (2 June 2025). The brand name change and unchanged legal name, the renaming to FUJIFILM Biosciences, and investment in life sciences. https://www.fujifilm.com/jp/en/news/hq/12432
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Official website (source of the logo image). https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Official website, "Cell Therapy CDMO". Cell types covered, partnerships with FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics and RoosterBio, and cell therapy sites. https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/capabilities/advanced-therapies/cell-therapy-cdmo/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Official website, "Thousand Oaks, CA". Size of the plant and what it handles (allogeneic T cells and CAR-T). https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/cdmo-facilities/usa/thousand-oaks/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Official website, "Tokyo, Japan". Opening of the Tokyo office in June 2023. https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/cdmo-facilities/japan/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Press release "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Unveils Biomanufacturing and Process Development Expansion in the United Kingdom" (11 February 2026). https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-unveils-biomanufacturing-and-process-development-expansion-in-the-united-kingdom/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Press release "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Selected in FDA PreCheck Pilot Program to Advance U.S. Drug Manufacturing" (8 July 2026). https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-selected-in-fda-precheck-pilot-program-to-advance-u-s-drug-manufacturing/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Press release "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Transitions Leadership to Drive Next Phase of Operational Excellence" (4 August 2026). The leadership change, more than 5,000 employees, and a description of kojoX. https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-transitions-leadership-to-drive-next-phase-of-operational-excellence/
- FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Press release "FUJIFILM Biotechnologies Celebrates the Opening of its New Quality Control Laboratory in Denmark" (15 April 2026). https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-celebrates-the-opening-of-its-new-quality-control-laboratory-in-denmark/
14. Claim-to-source audit
| Claim in the article | Category | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The brand name changed to FUJIFILM Biotechnologies with no change to the legal name; the renaming to FUJIFILM Biosciences | Sourced | Reference 4 https://www.fujifilm.com/jp/en/news/hq/12432 |
| At the end of the year to March 2026, the affiliated companies' legal names were still FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies | Sourced | Reference 1 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| The parent's registered office, listing, consolidated revenue and consolidated headcount | Sourced | Reference 1 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| Bio CDMO revenue of ¥219.5 billion and ¥254.1 billion, one-off costs, and EBITDA margin excluding one-off costs (overall, large-scale, small and mid-scale) | Sourced | Reference 2 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01113/teaserItems5/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2025q4_001j.pdf |
| Reclassification of the contract iPS cell therapy business into Bio CDMO, and restated revenue of ¥257.2 billion | Sourced | References 2 and 3 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01114/teaserItems2/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2026q1_001jj.pdf |
| Q1 revenue of ¥57.7 billion, the forecast cut from ¥300.0 billion to ¥280.0 billion, the delay at the new U.S. site, unplanned shutdowns, order intake and measures to strengthen the business | Sourced | Reference 3 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01114/teaserItems2/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2026q1_001jj.pdf |
| Bio CDMO capital expenditure falling sharply in the year to March 2027, with free cash flow expected to turn positive | Sourced | Reference 2 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01113/teaserItems5/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2025q4_001j.pdf |
| The 2011, 2015, 2019 and 2022 acquisitions | Sourced | Reference 1 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| Headcount and book value by entity (including construction in progress); Healthcare segment capital expenditure and R&D | Sourced | Reference 1 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| Total headcount by entity of 5,481 | Our calculation | This article's sum of the headcount by entity in reference 1 |
| The Regeneron contract (10 years, over US$3 billion), the argenx contract, eight 20,000 L tanks in operation in North Carolina and eight more in 2028, bringing forward the second phase, and the long-term contract with the Johnson & Johnson group | Sourced | Reference 1 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| The continuous electroporation device co-developed with HORIBA, and productivity about 100 times higher (Fujifilm's own research) | Sourced | Reference 1 https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| Investment of about £400 million in the UK, up to 19,000 L in 2,000 L and 5,000 L single-use bioreactors, and continuous process development | Sourced | Reference 9 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-unveils-biomanufacturing-and-process-development-expansion-in-the-united-kingdom/ |
| Selection for the FDA PreCheck pilot programme, and the Holly Springs customers (argenx, J&J, Regeneron) | Sourced | Reference 10 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-selected-in-fda-precheck-pilot-program-to-advance-u-s-drug-manufacturing/ |
| The August 2026 leadership change, more than 5,000 employees, and the description of kojoX | Sourced | Reference 11 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-transitions-leadership-to-drive-next-phase-of-operational-excellence/ |
| Opening of the quality control laboratory in Denmark (April 2026) | Sourced | Reference 12 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/about/news/fujifilm-biotechnologies-celebrates-the-opening-of-its-new-quality-control-laboratory-in-denmark/ |
| Cell types covered in cell therapy, partnerships with FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics and RoosterBio, and cell therapy sites (Thousand Oaks and College Station) | Sourced | Reference 6 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/capabilities/advanced-therapies/cell-therapy-cdmo/ |
| Size of the Thousand Oaks plant (about 90,000 sq ft) and what it handles (allogeneic T cells and CAR-T) | Sourced | Reference 7 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/cdmo-facilities/usa/thousand-oaks/ |
| Tokyo office (opened June 2023; sales and customer support) | Sourced | Reference 8 https://fujifilmbiotechnologies.fujifilm.com/cdmo-facilities/japan/ |
| The three types of cell culture company (CDMO / supplier / cell therapy) | Our calculation | Our own classification. Companies shown are examples from the 20 in this series |
| Bio CDMO operating profit, cell therapy revenue and orders, the sites of the unplanned shutdowns, value and term of the J&J contract, and the investment in the second phase | Not yet confirmed | Not in references 1 to 3, and this article makes no estimate https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-materials/earnings-presentations/main/01114/teaserItems2/0/linkList/0/link/ff_fy2026q1_001jj.pdf |
| Investments in start-ups and joint research with universities | Not yet confirmed | Not in references 1 or 6. This article does not conclude that none exists https://ir.fujifilm.com/ja/investors/ir-news/auto_20260624154900_S100YIBH/pdfFile.pdf |
| The reading that the company is selling on a U.S.-based supply chain | Inference | This article's interpretation of the context of the FDA PreCheck announcement |
| The reading that cell therapy is one outlet for the group's iPS cell strategy and is small for now | Inference | This article's interpretation of the segment reclassification and the size of each entity |
| The reading that utilisation of the 16 North Carolina tanks will decide the next few years; the risks of dependence on large customers and of assets not yet in use | Inference | This article's interpretation of the construction in progress and the slow start-up |
| The view that the margin gap comes from the difference in utilisation between large-scale and small and mid-scale facilities; the materials comparison of PEI and electroporation | Not yet confirmed | Technical commentary by this article, not company statements |
Last updated 24 September 2026 / Troy Technical
Every figure in this article comes from FUJIFILM Holdings' statutory filings and results presentations, and from official announcements by Fujifilm and FUJIFILM Biotechnologies. No research-firm estimates or press-based figures have been used. Passages marked "Inference" are this article's interpretation of primary sources, not statements made by the company.