COMPANY PROFILE / OPTICAL COMMUNICATIONS & PHOTONICS
Corning
The glass company that invented low-loss optical fibre, now locking in the "optical wiring" of AI data centres with big contracts
Corning is a glass, ceramics and optical physics company that, in its own words, invented the world's first low-loss optical fibre in 1970. Today its largest segment is Optical Communications, with 2025 revenue of US$6,274 million, 38% of total segment sales. Since the start of 2026 it has announced a string of large, long-term supply and partnership agreements with Meta (up to US$6 billion), NVIDIA, Amazon and Verizon, and is setting out to raise its U.S. production capacity for optical fibre and optical connectivity sharply. This profile keeps the company-wide figures brief and sets out what Corning is putting into optical communications and photonics, who it works with and where it is heading, using only its statutory filings with the U.S. SEC and its official releases.
- Corning in 30 seconds, and where it stands in optical communications and photonics
- The logo and how the name is written
- Where the company sits in optical communications and photonics
- Scale (the company as a whole, briefly)
- Resources committed to optical communications and photonics
- Track record so far
- Plans ahead
- What the company is aiming for in optical communications and photonics
- Partnership map
- Technologies, products and services
- The risks this company carries
- Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit
1. Corning in 30 seconds, and where it stands in optical communications and photonics
New York, U.S.Manufacturing in 14 countries
cable, connectivity)The "optical wiring" side, not optical modules
Amazon, VerizonAll multi-year supply or partnership agreements
to the chipDetachable fibre connections for CPO shown in March 2026
Companies in optical communications and photonics fall into three broad groups: optical components & modules, chips & foundries, and network systems & carriers. Corning sits on the optical components side, but it does not make lasers or optical transceivers Sourced. What it makes is optical fibre, optical cable and connectivity products such as connectors and distribution hardware: in other words, the "roads" that light travels along. The 10-K divides the Optical Communications segment into two groups: "carrier network" for telecom operators and "enterprise network" for businesses and data centres. The main reason the company gave for revenue growth in 2025 was strong demand for Generative AI products in its Enterprise business. In AI data centres the number of fibres needed rises by orders of magnitude as GPU counts grow, so Corning is placed differently from optical module makers: the growth of AI turns directly into volume demand.
2. The logo and how the name is written
Corning states in its official "Logo Usage Guidelines" that use of the logo requires approval from the company's Corporate Communications department. In accordance with this policy, this article does not display the Corning logo.
A note on names: the legal entity is Corning Incorporated. It changed its name from Corning Glass Works to the current name on 28 April 1989. Japanese-language coverage writes the name phonetically in katakana; this series uses the Latin-alphabet name throughout. The optical communications business operates under the name "Corning Optical Communications".
Official site: https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en.html3. Where the company sits in optical communications and photonics
Looked at by where in the optical landscape it operates, Corning spans almost every distance Sourced.
| Area | Main products (as described in the 10-K and official releases) | Position |
|---|---|---|
| Optical interconnect inside the data centre | Bend-resistant multimode and single-mode fibre, high-density cabling (such as EDGE8), MMC connectors and detachable fibre connections for CPO | The centre of growth in 2025 and 2026 |
| Data centre interconnect (DCI) and long-haul networks | Long-haul and metro fibre such as SMF-28e+, thin high-density microcables and Vascade for submarine networks | Demand for long-haul backbone networks for AI |
| Access networks | Fibre for FTTH (fibre to the home) and cabling systems such as Evolv | The traditional business, selling to telecom operators |
| Components and materials | Making optical fibre preforms and drawing fibre, optical components and couplers | Its core business as a glass materials company |
4. Scale (the company as a whole, briefly)
| Item (US$ million) | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | January to June 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Company revenue (GAAP) | - | 13,118 | 15,629 | 8,649 |
| Optical Communications revenue | 4,012 | 4,657 | 6,274 | 3,918 |
| Optical Communications net income | 478 | 612 | 1,048 | 825 |
| Optical Communications research, development and engineering expense | 238 | 274 | 308 | - |
| Optical Communications capital expenditure | 176 | 193 | 459 | 328 |
The company-wide figures include display glass, smartphone cover glass, automotive products, life sciences and polysilicon for solar cells, among others Sourced. Fortunately Corning reports Optical Communications as a separate segment, so the "Optical Communications" rows in the table above are the figures that show its size in optical communications and photonics. The segment's research, development and engineering expense covers only costs directly attributable to the segment, and is part of the company-wide figure (US$1.11 billion in 2025). The company has about 67,200 employees in 44 countries, but headcount for the Optical Communications segment is not disclosed Not yet confirmed. The segment structure changed from 2026, but Optical Communications remains a separate segment.
5. Resources committed to optical communications and photonics
For the four angles this series uses (people; money; outside investments, acquisitions and joint ventures; universities, research institutes and public funding), we separate what could be confirmed from what could not.
| Angle | Details | Category |
|---|---|---|
| People | Optical Communications headcount is not disclosed. In its releases, however, the company says the Meta agreement will raise its North Carolina workforce by 15 to 20% and keep more than 5,000 people in the state, the Amazon agreement will create 1,000 jobs in the state, and the NVIDIA partnership will create more than 3,000 jobs | Hiring plans sourced (company expectations) |
| Money (R&D) | Optical Communications research, development and engineering expense of US$308 million (2025). The segment holds 4,121 patents worldwide (1,625 in the U.S.) | Sourced |
| Money (capital expenditure) | Optical Communications capital expenditure of US$459 million (2025, about 2.4 times the year before) and US$328 million in the first half of 2026. Company-wide capital expenditure for 2026 is expected to rise to about US$2.0 billion | Sourced |
| Money from customers | In the second quarter of 2026 it recorded a US$1.0 billion customer deposit under a long-term supply agreement extending through 31 December 2029. The 10-Q explains that customer deposits allow customers to secure rights to products under long-term supply agreements, typically over periods of up to ten years | Sourced |
| Equity-linked grants to a customer | Issued NVIDIA a warrant for 15 million shares of common stock (exercise price US$180), and sold it a pre-funded warrant for 3 million shares for US$500 million (6 May 2026) | Sourced |
| Plants | Optical fibre plants in North Carolina, China, India and Poland; cable plants in North Carolina, Poland and elsewhere; connectivity plants in Texas, Mexico, Germany, Poland and China. The NVIDIA partnership includes three new plants in North Carolina and Texas, and the Meta agreement a new cable plant in Hickory, North Carolina | Sourced |
| Outside investments and JVs | The Optical Communications segment consolidates US Conec, a variable interest entity (VIE) of which Corning is the primary beneficiary. No new acquisitions or joint ventures in optical communications appear in the documents we checked | US Conec sourced / new deals could not be confirmed |
| Universities, research institutes and public funding | Under the Amazon agreement it will expand a training programme for fibre-optic technicians with Catawba Valley Community College. No research partnerships with universities or public funding awards appear in the documents we checked | Training sourced / research links and public funding could not be confirmed |
Optical fibre is made by producing a thick rod of high-purity silica glass (the preform) and then heating it in a furnace and drawing it down to the thickness of a hair (a general explanation). The 10-K lists among the segment's patents methods for making preforms and for drawing, cooling and winding fibre Sourced. The step that takes the most time and equipment is the preform process, in which chloride feedstocks react in the vapour phase to deposit fine glass particles that are then sintered into clear glass. This is closer to a chemical plant, handling large volumes of gas and heat while controlling the refractive index profile to nanometre precision.
In the NVIDIA partnership, Corning will "increase its U.S.-based optical connectivity manufacturing capacity by 10x" but "expand its U.S. fiber production capacity by more than 50%" Sourced. We read the gap between those two figures as showing that while assembly of connectors and cabling parts can be scaled relatively quickly, capacity for the glass itself cannot be raised all at once Not yet confirmed. See also our explainers on optical fibre and on optical connectors and fibre packaging.
6. Track record so far
| When | What happened | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| 1851 / 1936 | Founded as a glass business (1851); incorporated in New York State (1936) | A glass materials company |
| 1970 | Invented the world's first low-loss optical fibre (as stated in the 10-K) | One of the starting points of optical communications |
| April 1989 | Name changed from Corning Glass Works to Corning Incorporated | - |
| Fourth quarter of 2023 | Launched its "Springboard" growth plan (referred to as the starting point in a May 2026 release) | A medium-term plan for revenue growth |
| 2025 | Optical Communications revenue up 35% to US$6,274 million, led by enterprise products for generative AI | AI became the segment's growth engine |
| 27 January 2026 | Multi-year agreement with Meta worth up to US$6 billion. A major expansion of the Hickory optical cable plant, with Meta as the anchor customer | A large contract directly with a hyperscaler |
| 16 March 2026 | At OFC 2026, launched four-core multicore fibre, thin microcables, a 32-fibre MMC connector, the contactless PRIZM TMT ferrule and an end-to-end system for CPO | New products aimed at density and CPO |
| 6 May 2026 | Announced a long-term partnership with NVIDIA: 10x U.S. optical connectivity capacity, more than 50% more fibre capacity, and three new plants in North Carolina and Texas. Warrants issued to NVIDIA the same day | Tied to a GPU maker through both equity and supply |
| 6 May 2026 | Upgraded the Springboard plan and set out a plan to build US$10 billion in revenue by 2030 in a newly created "Photonics" business area | Optics set up as a growth area of its own |
| 8 June 2026 | Multi-year, multi-billion-dollar agreement with Amazon, creating 1,000 jobs in North Carolina | A second large hyperscaler contract |
| Second quarter of 2026 | Recorded a US$1.0 billion customer deposit under a long-term supply agreement running to the end of 2029 | A customer paying up front to secure capacity |
| 8 September 2026 | Multi-year, multi-billion-dollar agreement with Verizon for 2027 to 2032, covering more than 80 million miles of high-density optical fibre and connectivity | A large long-term contract with a telecom operator too |
| 21 September 2026 | Supplied multimode fibre glass ferrules for the joint demonstration with Lumentum and Qualcomm at ECOC 2026 (Lumentum release) | Taking part in die-to-die optical links through its components |
7. Plans ahead
by 2030Plan announced with the Springboard update in May 2026
in 2026Expectation in the 10-Q (US$1,282 million in 2025)
In its May 2026 release the CEO said the Enterprise business would capture strong growth as AI data centre clusters grow larger through scale-out and optical scale-up takes hold, and explained that a new "Photonics" business area had been set up Sourced. The CFO said investment risk would be appropriately shared through long-term customer agreements, and long-term agreements with customer deposits can be read as the concrete means of doing so.
None of the following appears in the 10-K, the 10-Q, the 8-K or the official releases Not yet confirmed.
The specific values of the agreements with NVIDIA, Amazon and Verizon (only Meta's is stated, "up to US$6 billion") / the cities, investment amounts and start dates of the three new plants / details of what the "Photonics" business area includes and its current revenue / Optical Communications headcount / the names of the "CPO system integrator and AI switch company" with which the CPO components were co-developed. Research-firm figures such as optical fibre market shares are not used in this article.
8. What the company is aiming for in optical communications and photonics
This section includes things the company does not say directly. We set them out as inferences within what the primary sources support, with the evidence for each.
| What the evidence suggests | Primary information it rests on | Category |
|---|---|---|
| From a fibre company to a company supplying the complete "optical wiring" right up to the chip | At OFC 2026 it showed detachable fibre connections for CPO, bend-resistant short fibre and pre-assembled trays as a set; the CEO named optical scale-up as a growth driver; and a Photonics business area was created | Inference |
| Establishing a contract model that shares capital investment risk with customers | The CFO's remark about sharing investment risk through long-term customer agreements, the US$1.0 billion customer deposit and the warrants granted to NVIDIA | Sourced (the company's explanation) |
| Making U.S. production a condition of competition | The Meta, NVIDIA and Amazon announcements all put expanded production and jobs in North Carolina and Texas front and centre | Inference |
| Inside the data centre, competing on fibre count (density) | Many of the new products are about density: four-core fibre (four times the capacity in the same diameter), microcables with twice the fibre count at half the diameter, and 32-fibre connectors | Sourced (product descriptions) |
The 10-Q says that in the second quarter of 2026 Corning recorded "a $1.0 billion customer deposit under a long-term supply agreement extending through December 31, 2029", partially offset by "$296 million for a warrant issued to the customer" Sourced. Meanwhile, the 8-K from the same quarter names NVIDIA as the recipient of a warrant (15 million shares, exercise price US$180), and that warrant is valued at US$296 million Sourced. Putting the two together, we read it as likely that the counterparty to the US$1 billion deposit is NVIDIA Not yet confirmed. If so, NVIDIA is not only a buyer of components but has also paid in advance for the expansion of Corning's U.S. plants, receiving in return the right to acquire shares. That would be an example of a GPU maker reaching down to secure supply at the level of the fibre material itself. The 10-Q does not name the customer behind the deposit, however, so this is our interpretation.
9. Partnership map
10. Technologies, products and services
We set out the main products of the Optical Communications segment from the 10-K and official releases. For performance figures, we state whether the product is in volume production or at the announcement or exhibition stage.
| Product | What it is (as the company describes it) | Status |
|---|---|---|
| SMF-28e Contour fibre | A 40% smaller fibre developed for generative AI, with improved bend resistance in high-density environments. Contour Flow cable fits twice as many fibres into the same cable diameter | In volume production. Stated to be adopted by hyperscalers and DCI operators |
| Multicore fibre | Several cores in a single fibre. Four times the capacity per fibre while keeping the standard 125 µm cladding diameter. The company claims up to 75% fewer connectors, up to 70% less cable mass and up to 60% shorter installation time | Launched at OFC 2026 (offered as integrated fibre, cable and connectivity) |
| Contour Flow microcable | About half the diameter of conventional ribbon cable. 1,728 fibres, twice as many as recent microcables in the same space | Launched at OFC 2026 |
| MMC connectors | A 32-fibre version added to the 12-, 16- and 24-fibre versions. Also supports blind-mate use | Launched at OFC 2026 |
| PRIZM TMT ferrule | A contactless connection that expands and transmits light through micro-lenses. Fibres do not physically touch, so it is less sensitive to dust | Launched in combination with MMC connectors |
| End-to-end system for CPO | Fibre-to-chip connectors using detachable fibre array units, bend-resistant fibre for short CPO runs and pre-assembled trays | Exhibited at OFC 2026. Co-developed with a CPO system integrator and an AI switch company |
| For telecom operators | SMF-28e+, LEAF, TXF, Vascade for submarine networks, ClearCurve for FTTH, Evolv, Centrix and others | In volume production |
An optical fibre consists of a thin core that carries the light and the cladding around it. Connectors, fusion splicers and cable designs the world over assume a cladding diameter of 125 µm (a general explanation). Corning says its multicore fibre places four cores inside that standard 125 µm diameter Sourced. Keeping the outer diameter makes it easier to coexist with existing equipment and materials, but because the cores sit closer together, refractive-index design that suppresses light leaking into neighbouring cores (crosstalk) and rotational alignment that lines up all four cores precisely at once during connection become harder (a general explanation).
That the company describes it as offered with fibre, cable and connectivity together is, in our reading, the flip side of a product that cannot be used on the fibre alone: it only delivers value once the connectors and installation come with it Not yet confirmed.
11. The risks this company carries
| Risk | Details | Category |
|---|---|---|
| Dependence on customers' capital spending | The 10-K states as a risk that the optical communications business faces fluctuations in telecommunication and hyperscale data centre capital spending | Sourced |
| Pricing and competition | The 10-K says industry consolidation, price pressure and competition in new product development continue. It names Amphenol, Fujikura (and its subsidiary America Fujikura), Sumitomo and Prysmian as principal competitors | Sourced |
| Start-up costs of capacity expansion | Company-wide capital expenditure rises to about US$2.0 billion in 2026, with three new plants and the Hickory expansion under way at the same time | Sourced |
| Concentration on particular customers | Large contracts with a small number of hyperscalers and GPU makers, such as Meta, NVIDIA and Amazon, are becoming the pillars of growth | Inference |
| Share dilution | Warrants for up to 18 million shares issued to NVIDIA (3 million of them pre-funded) | Sourced |
| Expiry of important patents | The 10-K states that 44 important U.S. patents in the Optical Communications segment expire between 2026 and 2028 | Sourced |
12. Glossary
- Optical fibre
- A thin strand of silica glass that confines light in its central core and carries it over long distances.
- Preform
- The thick glass rod from which optical fibre is made. Heated and drawn out thin, it becomes fibre.
- Multicore fibre
- A fibre with several cores inside a single strand. It raises capacity without adding more fibres.
- MMC connector
- A type of small multi-fibre connector that connects many fibres at once.
- Ferrule
- The part inside a connector that holds the end of the fibre and aligns it.
- CPO
- Co-packaged optics. The optical engine sits beside the switch or GPU package, bringing fibre close to the chip.
- DCI
- Data centre interconnect: links between data centres.
- Warrant
- A right to buy shares at a set price. Companies grant them to business partners and others.
13. References
- Corning Incorporated Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 (filed with the U.S. SEC on 12 February 2026). History, Optical Communications products, plants, competitors and patents, segment revenue, net income, research, development and engineering expense and capital expenditure, company-wide revenue and research, development and engineering expense, headcount and risk factors. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000124/glw-20251231.htm
- Corning Incorporated Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended June 30, 2026 (filed with the U.S. SEC on 29 July 2026). Quarterly and half-year Optical Communications revenue, net income and capital expenditure, the US$1.0 billion customer deposit and warrant, the 2026 capital expenditure outlook and US Conec. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000255/glw-20260630.htm
- Corning Incorporated Form 8-K (filed with the U.S. SEC on 6 May 2026). Issue to NVIDIA of a warrant (15 million shares, exercise price US$180) and a pre-funded warrant (3 million shares, US$500 million). https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000120677426000273/glw4631061-8k.htm
- NVIDIA / Corning Joint release, "NVIDIA and Corning Announce Long-Term Partnership To Strengthen U.S. Manufacturing for AI Infrastructure" (6 May 2026; Exhibit 99.1 to the 8-K above). 10x U.S. optical connectivity capacity, more than 50% more fibre capacity, three plants and more than 3,000 jobs. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000120677426000273/glw4631061-ex991.htm
- Corning Incorporated Press release, "Corning and Meta Announce Multiyear, up to $6 Billion Agreement to Accelerate US Data Center Buildout" (27 January 2026). https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/01/corning-and-meta-announce-multiyear-up-to-6-billion-agreement-to-accelerate-us-data-center-buildout.html
- Corning Incorporated Press release, "Corning To Launch AI Innovations in Fiber, Cable, and Connectivity at OFC 2026" (16 March 2026). Multicore fibre, microcables, 32-fibre MMC, PRIZM TMT and the system for CPO. https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/03/corning-to-launch-ai-innovations-in-fiber-cable-and-connectivity-at-ofc-2026.html
- Corning Incorporated Press release, "Corning Upgrades and Extends Springboard Plan, Outlines New Phase of Accelerating Growth" (6 May 2026). The plan for US$10 billion in Photonics revenue by 2030 and comments from the CEO and CFO. https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/05/corning-upgrades-and-extends-springboard-plan-outlines-new-phase-of-accelerating-growth.html
- Corning Incorporated Press release, "Amazon Announces Agreement with Corning to Boost U.S. Fiber Optics Manufacturing, Creating 1,000 Advanced Manufacturing Jobs in North Carolina" (8 June 2026). https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/06/amazon-announces-agreement-with-corning-to-boost-us-fiber-optics-manufacturing-creating-1000-advanced-manufacturing-jobs-in-north-carolina.html
- Corning Incorporated Press release, "Verizon and Corning Announce Multi-year, Multi-billion Dollar Supply Agreement for Broadband Expansion and Next-Gen AI Infrastructure" (8 September 2026). https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/09/verizon-and-corning-announce-multi-year-multi-billion-dollar-supply-agreement-for-broadband-expansion-and-next-gen-ai-infrastructure.html
- Lumentum Holdings Inc. Press release, "Lumentum, Qualcomm, and Corning to Demonstrate High-Density 1060 nm VCSEL Optical D2D Connectivity for AI Scale-Up at ECOC 2026" (21 September 2026). Corning's supply of multimode fibre glass ferrules and MMC connectivity. https://investor.lumentum.com/financial-news-releases/news-details/2026/Lumentum-Qualcomm-and-Corning-to-Demonstrate-High-Density-1060-nm-VCSEL-Optical-D2D-Connectivity-for-AI-Scale-Up-at-ECOC-2026/default.aspx
- Corning Incorporated Official website (used to check the company name style). https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en.html
14. Claim-to-source audit
| Claim in the article | Category | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Years of founding, incorporation and name change, the 1970 invention of low-loss optical fibre, manufacturing in 14 countries and about 67,200 employees | Sourced | Reference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000124/glw-20251231.htm |
| Structure of the Optical Communications segment (carrier / enterprise), products, plant locations, competitors, and patent counts and expiries | Sourced | Reference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000124/glw-20251231.htm |
| Optical Communications revenue, net income, research, development and engineering expense and capital expenditure (2023 to 2025), 38% of total segment sales, and company-wide revenue and research, development and engineering expense | Sourced | Reference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000124/glw-20251231.htm |
| First-half 2026 Optical Communications revenue, net income and capital expenditure, company revenue, the 2026 capital expenditure outlook of about US$2.0 billion, and US Conec | Sourced | Reference 2 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000255/glw-20260630.htm |
| The US$1.0 billion customer deposit under a long-term supply agreement running to the end of 2029, offset by the warrant issued to the customer | Sourced | Reference 2 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000255/glw-20260630.htm |
| Terms of the warrant and pre-funded warrant issued to NVIDIA | Sourced | Reference 3 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000120677426000273/glw4631061-8k.htm |
| Content of the NVIDIA partnership (10x optical connectivity capacity, more than 50% more fibre capacity, three plants, more than 3,000 jobs) | Sourced | Reference 4 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000120677426000273/glw4631061-ex991.htm |
| The agreement with Meta worth up to US$6 billion, the new cable plant in Hickory and jobs in North Carolina | Sourced | Reference 5 https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/01/corning-and-meta-announce-multiyear-up-to-6-billion-agreement-to-accelerate-us-data-center-buildout.html |
| New products at OFC 2026 (multicore fibre, microcables, 32-fibre MMC, PRIZM TMT, system for CPO) and their figures, and co-development of CPO components | Sourced | Reference 6 https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/03/corning-to-launch-ai-innovations-in-fiber-cable-and-connectivity-at-ofc-2026.html |
| US$10 billion in the Photonics business area by 2030, the starting point of Springboard, and the CEO's and CFO's comments | Sourced | Reference 7 https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/05/corning-upgrades-and-extends-springboard-plan-outlines-new-phase-of-accelerating-growth.html |
| The multi-billion-dollar agreement with Amazon, 1,000 jobs, and the training programme with Catawba Valley Community College | Sourced | Reference 8 https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/06/amazon-announces-agreement-with-corning-to-boost-us-fiber-optics-manufacturing-creating-1000-advanced-manufacturing-jobs-in-north-carolina.html |
| The agreement with Verizon for 2027 to 2032 (more than 80 million miles) | Sourced | Reference 9 https://www.corning.com/worldwide/en/about-us/news-events/news-releases/2026/09/verizon-and-corning-announce-multi-year-multi-billion-dollar-supply-agreement-for-broadband-expansion-and-next-gen-ai-infrastructure.html |
| Supply of components for the joint ECOC 2026 demonstration with Lumentum and Qualcomm | Sourced | Reference 10 https://investor.lumentum.com/financial-news-releases/news-details/2026/Lumentum-Qualcomm-and-Corning-to-Demonstrate-High-Density-1060-nm-VCSEL-Optical-D2D-Connectivity-for-AI-Scale-Up-at-ECOC-2026/default.aspx |
| The three types of company in optical communications and photonics | Our calculation | This article's own classification. Example companies drawn from those covered in this series |
| The reading that the counterparty to the US$1 billion deposit is likely to be NVIDIA | Inference | This article's interpretation from comparing references 2 and 3. The 10-Q does not name the customer |
| Values of the NVIDIA, Amazon and Verizon agreements, the cities, investment and start dates of the new plants, the scope of the Photonics business area, Optical Communications headcount, and the names of the CPO co-development partners | Not yet confirmed | Not stated in references 1 to 9. Figures from press reports are not used https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/24741/000002474126000255/glw-20260630.htm |
| The readings that it is becoming a supplier of complete optical wiring, that U.S. production is a condition of competition, and that customer concentration is a risk | Inference | This article's interpretation of the announcements in references 4 to 9 |
| Technical issues in the preform process and multicore fibre, and the reading of the gap between the fibre and connectivity capacity increases | Inference | This article's explanation based on general technical knowledge and references 1, 4 and 6 |
Last updated 26 September 2026 / Troy Technical
Every figure in this article comes from the statutory filings Corning Incorporated has made with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and from the official releases of the company and its partners. No research-firm estimates or press-based figures have been used. Passages marked "Inference" are this article's interpretation of the primary sources, not statements made by the company.