MENU

Fujitsu | Company Profile | Photonics

Back to Technology, Institution & Company Guides

COMPANY PROFILE / OPTICAL COMMUNICATIONS & PHOTONICS

Fujitsu
It let go of optical components and carved out its optical transport business as 1FINITY: a fresh start as an equipment maker

For many years Fujitsu made both optical transport equipment and optical components. In 2025 that picture changed sharply. In April it sold its optical components subsidiary, Fujitsu Optical Components, to Furukawa Electric, and in July it spun off its network products business, which covers optical transport equipment and 5G base stations, into the wholly owned 1FINITY Inc. Today, then, the Fujitsu group is a company that makes equipment, not components, in optical communications. This profile keeps IT services and the other businesses to a minimum and concentrates on what Fujitsu builds for optical transport, who it works with and where it is heading.

Sources: Fujitsu Limited's Annual Securities Report for its 126th fiscal period (Japan's statutory annual filing, submitted 26 June 2026), the financial results materials for Q1 of FY2026 (30 July 2026), Fujitsu's press release on the launch of 1FINITY (24 April 2025), 1FINITY Inc.'s official press releases and a timely disclosure by Furukawa Electric, used as primary material. Quotations from Japanese-language sources are our own translations. Last updated September 2026.

What this article covers
  1. Fujitsu in 30 seconds, and where it stands in optical communications and photonics
  2. The logo and how the name is written
  3. Where the company sits in the optical communications landscape
  4. Scale (the group in brief)
  5. Resources committed to optical communications and photonics
  6. What it has done so far
  7. What comes next
  8. What the company is aiming for in optical communications and photonics
  9. Map of partnerships in optical communications and photonics
  10. Technologies, products and services
  11. The risks this company carries
  12. Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit

1. Fujitsu in 30 seconds, and where it stands in optical communications and photonics

LEGAL NAMEFujitsu LimitedThe English form of the registered Japanese name
HEAD OFFICEKawasaki, Kanagawa, JapanOptical transport sits with the subsidiary 1FINITY (Nakahara-ku, Kawasaki)
LISTINGSTokyo Stock Exchange Prime 6702Also listed on the Nagoya Stock Exchange
CATEGORY IN THIS FIELDNetwork equipment maker
(optical transport systems)
The optical components subsidiary was sold in 2025
NETWORK PRODUCTS REVENUE¥193.6 billionFY2025 (year to March 2026). Includes base station equipment
WHO DOES THE WORK1FINITY Inc.Launched July 2025, wholly owned by Fujitsu
1FINITY EMPLOYEESAbout 1,800About 4,600 including group companies
MAIN AREAS OF LIGHTLong-haul, metro, DCI
All-photonic networks
The equipment side of the IOWN APN
The one thing to grasp first

Companies involved in optical communications fall into three broad types: optical components & modules, chips & foundries, and network systems & carriers. The Fujitsu group today sits on the network equipment side Sourced. The Annual Securities Report describes "Network Products", part of the Hardware Solutions segment, as a business that provides communications infrastructure such as mobile phone base stations and optical transmission systems, and 1FINITY is the company that runs it. Meanwhile Fujitsu Optical Components, which made optical modulators, optical receivers and optical transceivers, was transferred to Furukawa Electric on 1 April 2025 and is now part of the Furukawa Electric group. The simplest way to see the whole picture is that Fujitsu has withdrawn from optical components and narrowed its focus to building optical networks and selling them to carriers and cloud operators.

2. The logo and how the name is written

The Fujitsu logo is a trademark of the company. We have not recreated it with generated imagery; the image was taken from the official website and is placed here as img/fujitsu_logo.svg.

A note on names: the legal entity is Fujitsu Limited. The subsidiary responsible for optical transport equipment is legally named 1FINITY Inc., and its own materials also use "1Finity" as the brand spelling. "1FINITY" was originally the brand name of Fujitsu's optical transport products. The U.S. subsidiary 1Finity Americas, Inc. is the former Fujitsu Network Transmission Systems, Inc., founded in 1997.

Official site: https://www.1finity.co.jp/

3. Where the company sits in the optical communications landscape

Three types of company in optical communications and photonics All of them are optical communications companies, yet where they handle light differs completely Optical components & modules Chips & foundries Network systems & carriers Sell parts to emit and detect light Make chips that connect to optics Build and run optical networks Lumentum / Coherent InnoLight / Ayar Labs, etc. NVIDIA / Broadcom TSMC / Intel, etc. NTT / Ciena Nokia / Cisco, etc. Mass-producing lasers, packaging Sell into switches and GPUs Long-haul and operations know-how Heavily reliant on big customers Often rely on others for optics Data-centre tech changes fast Fujitsu sits on the far right: its subsidiary 1FINITY sells optical transport gear to carriers and clouds In 2025 it sold its optical components arm to Furukawa Electric, to focus on systems and network software
Fig. 1 The three types of company involved in optical communications and photonics, and where Fujitsu sits. The classification is our own, and the companies shown are examples drawn from those covered in this series Our calculation. Fujitsu's placement is based on the Annual Securities Report's description of Network Products (communications infrastructure such as mobile phone base stations and optical transmission systems) and on 1FINITY's line of business. Fujitsu is not a carrier; it sells equipment to carriers.

In terms of where in the optical chain it operates, Fujitsu's core is long-haul transmission, metro networks and data centre interconnect (DCI), and it is also on the equipment side of the All-Photonics Network (APN) in NTT's IOWN initiative Sourced. Server-to-server cabling inside data centres and the components of optical transceivers are not where today's Fujitsu group mainly competes. Its ground is coherent transmission and the APN, the areas covered in our explainers on IOWN and on optical transceivers.

4. Scale (the group in brief)

The size of the group as a whole is covered in a single table Sourced.

MeasureFY2025 (year to March 2026)
Consolidated revenue¥3,502.9 billion
Consolidated adjusted operating profit¥390.5 billion
Consolidated R&D expenses¥137.3 billion (of which Hardware Solutions ¥58.6 billion)
Consolidated employees (31 March 2026)99,203

Revenue from optical transport equipment is disclosed as part of "Network Products" within the Hardware Solutions segment. Network Products also includes wireless equipment such as 5G base stations, however, and no figure is disclosed for optical transport alone Sourced.

Network Products (¥ billion)FY2024FY2025Q1 FY2026
Revenue181.6193.636.1
Year-on-year change-Up 6.6%Up 3.3%
(For reference) FY2025 revenue by quarterQ1 34.9 / Q2 43.2 / Q3 52.2 / Q4 63.2
A caution

Network Products revenue of ¥193.6 billion is only 5.5% of consolidated revenue Our calculation. Its profit is not disclosed separately, but in the Q&A for Q1 of FY2026 the company explained that the adjusted operating loss in Hardware Solutions was caused by Network Products, saying that "quarterly revenue of ¥36 billion is a very small scale, and at this scale we end up in the red" and that "many sales are concentrated in Q4, and that is where we somehow manage to secure a profit" Sourced. For FY2025 the Annual Securities Report says Network Products earned higher profit as 1FINITY's operational efficiency also improved, but gives no profit figure.

5. Resources committed to optical communications and photonics

Type of resourceWhat it isCategory
People (dedicated organisation and staff)1FINITY Inc. has about 1,800 employees (about 4,600 including group companies) and a Photonics System Business Unit. Its manufacturing facilities for optical transmission systems are at the Oyama Plant in Tochigi Prefecture, where the manufacturing subsidiary 1Finity Works is also locatedSourced
Money (R&D)R&D expenses in Hardware Solutions were ¥58.6 billion (FY2025). The figure includes servers and other products; the amount for optical transport alone is not disclosedSourced
Money (capital expenditure)Capital expenditure on optical transport does not appear in the primary sources we checkedNot confirmed
DivestitureAll shares in the optical components maker Fujitsu Optical Components (LN modulators, optical receivers, optical transceivers) transferred to Furukawa Electric (1 April 2025). Before the transfer, in the year to March 2024, that company had net sales of ¥13.6 billion and an operating loss of ¥10.2 billionSourced
Partnerships and investmentA strategic partnership with Arrcus of the U.S. on network solutions (September 2025); collaboration with Edgecore Networks, part of Taiwan's Accton, and Liqid of the U.S. on distributed data centres linked by the APN (November 2025); and a memorandum of understanding with Accton on manufacturing at the Oyama Plant (May 2026). No investments or acquisitions in optical communications could be confirmedSourced
Public fundingThe "L1000/L2000 OLS" optical line system is a result of research commissioned by NICT (Japan's national institute for information and communications technology). The ITU-T standardisation of APN design guidelines was part of research commissioned under the NICT-administered fund. The trial of the Watt-Bit vision (a Japanese initiative to plan power and data infrastructure together) is a NEDO survey project. SHINKA, the international joint research with Fraunhofer HHI, is supported by Germany's Federal Ministry of Education and Research and Japan's Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC)Sourced
Links with research institutesA long-term collaboration with Germany's Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute on open, disaggregated optical networks (March 2026)Sourced

6. What it has done so far

WhenWhat happenedWhy it matters
November 1997Fujitsu Network Transmission Systems, Inc. (now 1Finity Americas, Inc.) founded in the U.S.The base for the North American optical transport business
February 2024Agreement with Taiwan's Chunghwa Telecom to study building an APN based on the IOWN initiative (a strategic partnership for 2024 to 2026)The starting point for taking the APN overseas
December 2024Furukawa Electric resolves and signs an agreement to acquire all shares of Fujitsu Optical ComponentsThe sale of the optical components business is decided
1 April 2025Fujitsu Optical Components transferred to Furukawa Electric (now Furukawa FITEL Optical Components)Exit from optical components
1 July 2025The network products business is split off and 1FINITY Inc. is launched (100% Fujitsu)Optical transport equipment becomes a dedicated company
September 2025Strategic partnership between Fujitsu, 1FINITY and Arrcus of the U.S.Software and openness
November 2025Collaboration with Edgecore Networks and Liqid on a solution linking distributed data centres by the APN (announced for availability from the end of March 2026)Entry into the AI data-centre market
February 2026Announces the "Ultra Optical System L1000/L2000 OLS" optical line system, with global sales from autumn 2026A new product for hyperscalers and cloud providers
March 2026Collaboration on open optical networking research begins with Fraunhofer HHIResearch on multi-vendor operation
May 2026Memorandum of understanding with Taiwan's Accton on strategic collaboration to manufacture Accton products at the Oyama PlantFilling the plant with outside products
July 2026Chunghwa Telecom, Fujitsu and 1FINITY agree a two-year strategic collaboration on deploying the APN in society and using quantum technology. A trial of the Watt-Bit vision begins under a NEDO survey projectTaking the APN overseas and linking it with power
August 2026Design guidelines for the APN, led by seven Japanese companies including 1FINITY, standardised internationally as ITU-T Recommendation Y.3335An international standard for the APN

7. What comes next

NEW OPTICAL LINE SYSTEML1000/L2000 OLSGlobal sales from autumn 2026
PRIORITY MARKETSFrom a base in Japan and North America
into Europe and Asia
New customer groups such as cloud infrastructure companies
DISTRIBUTED DATA CENTRESA few km to several hundred km over the APNCollaboration with Edgecore and Liqid
COLLABORATION WITH CHUNGHWA TELECOMTwo yearsIncluding technical verification of an APN using submarine systems

When 1FINITY was launched, Fujitsu set out three priorities for the new company Sourced: (1) building on Japan and North America to expand into Europe and Asia and win new customer groups such as cloud infrastructure companies; (2) strengthening product competitiveness with core technologies such as what it calls world-class high-capacity optical data transmission and reception; and (3) taking on new areas as a supplier of next-generation communication systems such as 6G and IOWN. "World-class" is the company's own description. The review of the medium-term management plan published in May 2026 places "NIC 1.6T, 3.2T" alongside 1FINITY's photonics systems, suggesting the company has faster optical network interfaces in view.

What could not be confirmed

None of the following appears in the primary sources Not yet confirmed.

Revenue and profit for optical transport systems alone; medium-term revenue and profit targets for Network Products; 1FINITY's capital expenditure; the customers and first orders for the L1000/L2000 OLS; and the suppliers of the optical components (coherent DSPs and optical modules) used in its optical transport equipment. Market-share figures for optical transport equipment mostly rest on research-firm estimates, and this article does not use them.

8. What the company is aiming for in optical communications and photonics

This section goes beyond what the company says directly. It sets out inferences that can be drawn from primary sources, each with its basis.

What can be readPrimary evidence behind itCategory
In optical communications Fujitsu will own no components and compete on equipment and softwareIt sold the optical components subsidiary in April 2025 and turned the equipment business into a dedicated company in July. It gives a "shift to software technology" as one purpose of the spin-offInference
Its customers will include hyperscalers and cloud providers, not only carriersThe launch announcement names "expansion into the AI data centre market" and "new customer groups such as cloud infrastructure companies". The L1000/L2000 OLS also names hyperscalers and cloud providers as targetsSourced
It is taking an open, multi-vendor stanceThe OLS is billed as designed for operation in multi-vendor environments and features an open WSS; Fujitsu researches disaggregated optical networks with Fraunhofer HHI and has partnered with Arrcus on a network OS for white-box hardwareInference
It plays the role of taking the APN outside JapanThe collaboration with Chunghwa Telecom (Taiwan) and participation in standardising the design guidelines at the ITU-TInference
The plant will take on manufacturing for other companies to keep runningUnder the memorandum with Accton, manufacturing trials of Accton's information and communications equipment have started at the Oyama PlantInference
One inference, explained in full

In the Q&A for Q1 of FY2026, the company said frankly of Network Products that "quarterly revenue of ¥36 billion is a very small scale, and at this scale we end up in the red" Sourced. To compete in the global market for optical transport equipment, the fixed costs of R&D and manufacturing have to be spread over large revenue. Seen that way, selling the optical components business (shedding fixed costs), the spin-off (faster decision-making), making Accton products at the Oyama Plant (keeping the plant busy) and the OLS for hyperscalers (a broader customer base) can all be read as responses to the same problem: lack of scale Not yet confirmed. The company has not presented these moves as a single strategy; this is our interpretation.

9. Map of partnerships in optical communications and photonics

Partnerships around Fujitsu and 1FINITY in optical communications Only ties stated in the securities report, official releases and Furukawa's disclosure; press reports excluded Joint work Research, standards Divested (dashed) Manufacturing Fujitsu / 1FINITY Furukawa Electric Optical parts unit sold (Apr 2025) Chunghwa Telecom (Taiwan) APN and quantum tie-up (2026) Edgecore, Liqid APN links distributed DCs Collaboration from Nov 2025 Fraunhofer HHI Open optical network research SHINKA (German, Japanese govt aid) Seven Japanese firms, NICT APN guideline standardised at ITU-T Accton (Taiwan) Builds at Oyama plant (MoU) Arrcus: network OS partnership
Fig. 2 Partnerships in optical communications around Fujitsu and 1FINITY. Sources: 1FINITY's official releases (September and November 2025; February, March, May, July and August 2026), Furukawa Electric's timely disclosure (12 December 2024) and Fujitsu's Annual Securities Report. The line to Furukawa Electric is dashed because the relationship is a business transfer, not a collaboration (Furukawa disclosed that it would continue to work with Fujitsu after the acquisition). Edgecore Networks is a subsidiary of Accton Technology. The seven Japanese companies are KDDI, NTT, 1FINITY, NEC, Rakuten Mobile, Oki Electric Industry and Sumitomo Electric Industries. Customers for the optical transport equipment are not disclosed, so they are left out of the figure.

10. Technologies, products and services

Product or serviceWhat the primary sources sayStage
Optical transport equipment (Ultra Optical System)Optical transport systems under the 1FINITY brand, for long-haul, metro and DCIOn sale
L1000/L2000 OLS platformSupports transmission beyond 800G. A direct-attach configuration that connects transceivers straight to the ROADM, 1 to 16 degrees over a continuous C+L band, an open WSS and multi-rail transmission. Integrates automated fibre maintenance and a wavelength planning toolOn sale from autumn 2026
P300 series coherent pluggable transceiversSupport 800G ZR/ZR+ (listed as a component 1FINITY supplies in the collaboration with Edgecore and Liqid)Supplied to collaboration partners
Optical network interface cards (NICs)Cards that perform programmable optical transmission (same source)Supplied to collaboration partners
Network operations softwareSmart fault recovery that uses AI to identify the cause of network faults, and operations support from an AI trained on the knowledge of skilled operatorsOn sale

ZR/ZR+ is a family of coherent pluggable specifications defined by the OIF and others, but 1FINITY's release says only that the product supports 800G ZR/ZR+ optical communications and does not name the specification documents it complies with. This article treats it as the company's own description.

A materials engineer's view: the difficulty of handling a "continuous C+L band" in one system

The L1000/L2000 OLS is described as scalable from 1 to 16 degrees over a continuous C+L band Sourced. Signals sent over long distances in optical fibre are usually amplified along the way by erbium-doped fibre amplifiers (EDFAs). Erbium provides high gain in the C band (about 1530 to 1565 nm) but less in the L band (about 1565 to 1625 nm), so amplifying the L band means using a longer erbium-doped fibre or changing the doping conditions (our explanation). For that reason, the common approach until now has been to install separate amplifiers for the C band and the L band, leaving an unusable stretch of spectrum (a guard band) between them.

Handling a "continuous" C+L band means designing the amplifiers, the wavelength selective switches (WSS) and the demultiplexers with no break in the band. Because the usable width of spectrum translates directly into transmission capacity, it is a way to get more capacity out of fibre that is already in the ground. 1FINITY has not published which amplification scheme it uses to achieve a continuous band Not yet confirmed.

11. The risks this company carries

RiskSubstanceCategory
Small business scaleThe company itself says that at quarterly revenue of ¥36 billion the business makes a lossSourced
Seasonal skew in revenueThe company explains that Network Products revenue is concentrated in Q4 and that the early quarters continue to tend towards lossesSourced
Dependence on outside optical componentsHaving sold its optical components subsidiary, it must buy in the optical components used in its equipment. The suppliers are not disclosedInference
Optical and wireless mixed togetherNetwork Products revenue includes base station equipment, and the company attributes the FY2025 revenue increase to base station deliveries being brought forward. The true strength of optical transport is hard to see from the figuresSourced
Track record in new marketsThe OLS for hyperscalers goes on sale in autumn 2026, and no orders have yet been disclosedNot yet confirmed

12. Glossary

APN
All-Photonics Network. A network that carries signals as light all the way, without converting them to electrical signals along the route. The core technology of the IOWN initiative.
IOWN
NTT's concept for a next-generation communications and computing infrastructure. "IOWN" is a trademark of NTT.
OLS
Optical Line System. The system that amplifies, routes and multiplexes wavelengths on optical fibre.
ROADM
Reconfigurable optical add-drop multiplexer. Directs signals wavelength by wavelength.
WSS
Wavelength Selective Switch. An optical switch that sends each wavelength to a chosen output.
C band and L band
Wavelength bands used in optical fibre communications. The C band is about 1530 to 1565 nm; the L band lies on its longer-wavelength side.
DCI
Data Center Interconnect. Optical links that connect data centres to one another.
ZR/ZR+
A family of specifications for pluggable coherent optical transceivers, used for links such as those between data centres.
Concept diagram: several distant data centres and telecom buildings linked by an optical network that carries signals as light
Fig. 3 Concept diagram of the optical transport networks handled by the Fujitsu group (1FINITY) (AI-generated concept; it does not depict actual equipment or products).

13. References

  1. Fujitsu Limited Annual Securities Report for the 126th fiscal period (1 April 2025 to 31 March 2026), filed 26 June 2026 (in Japanese). Company history, segment structure, Network Products revenue, R&D expenses, the spin-off of 1FINITY, principal facilities (Oyama Plant) and headcount. https://global.fujitsu/-/media/Project/Fujitsu/Fujitsu-HQ/ir/documents/secreport/126/126_Securities_Report.pdf?sc_lang=ja-JP
  2. Fujitsu Limited Presentation materials for the Q1 FY2026 financial results briefing (30 July 2026, in Japanese). Network Products revenue by quarter, consolidated revenue and adjusted operating profit. https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Financial-Summary-ja.pdf
  3. Fujitsu Limited Questions and answers from the Q1 FY2026 financial results briefing (July 2026, in Japanese). Explanation of the scale of Network Products and its quarterly losses. https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Questions-and-Answers-ja.pdf
  4. Fujitsu Limited Summary of consolidated financial results for Q1 of the fiscal year ending March 2027 (kessan tanshin, the standard Japanese earnings release; 30 July 2026, in Japanese). Reportable segment structure and securities code. https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Financial-Results-ja.pdf
  5. Fujitsu Limited Press release: Launch of "1FINITY Inc." to strengthen the network business (24 April 2025, in Japanese). Outline of the new company, its priorities and the origin of the brand. https://pr.fujitsu.com/jp/news/2025/04/24-1.pdf
  6. 1FINITY Inc. Press release: 1Finity, a Fujitsu company, commences operations and reveals brand identity (1 July 2025; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-a-fujitsu-company-commences-operations-and-reveals-brand-identity
  7. 1FINITY Inc. Press release: 1Finity unveils next-generation optical line system for the AI era and beyond (26 February 2026; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-unveils-next-generation-optical-line-system-for-the-ai-era-and-beyond
  8. Chunghwa Telecom, Fujitsu and 1FINITY Press release: Chunghwa Telecom, Fujitsu and 1Finity to accelerate All-Photonics Network deployment and advance quantum technologies in Taiwan through strategic partnership (22 July 2026; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/chunghwa-telecom-fujitsu-1finity-all-photonics-network-taiwan
  9. Edgecore Networks, 1FINITY and Liqid Press release: Accton/Edgecore, 1Finity, and Liqid Collaborate to Deliver Seamless All-Photonic Datacenter Connectivity with Composable High Performance and Wide-Area Resource Sharing (19 November 2025; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/accton-edgecore-1finity-liqid-all-photonic-datacenter-connectivity
  10. Fujitsu, 1FINITY and Arrcus Press release: Fujitsu, 1Finity and Arrcus sign strategic partnership agreement to deliver innovative network solutions for AI infrastructure (3 September 2025; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-fujitsu-arrcus-strategic-partnership-ai-network-solutions
  11. Fraunhofer HHI and 1FINITY Press release: Fraunhofer HHI and 1Finity Launch Cooperation on Open Optical Networking Research (13 March 2026; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/fraunhofer-hhi-and-1finity-launch-cooperation-on-open-optical-networking-research
  12. 1FINITY Inc. Press release: 1Finity Signs Memorandum of Understanding with Taiwan's Accton for Strategic Manufacturing Collaboration (29 May 2026; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-accton-strategic-manufacturing-taiwan
  13. Nautilus Technologies and six other companies Press release: Launch of a proof-of-concept experiment for a next-generation distributed AI processing infrastructure aiming to realize the Watt-Bit vision (27 July 2026; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/distributed-ai-processing-infrastructure-watt-bit
  14. KDDI, NTT, 1FINITY, NEC, Rakuten Mobile, Oki Electric Industry and Sumitomo Electric Industries Press release: ITU-T Standardizes Framework of Low-Latency and Energy-Efficient Networks to Support the AI Era (21 August 2026; title of the English version, link to the Japanese release). https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/low-latency-energy-efficient-networks-ITU-T
  15. Furukawa Electric Co., Ltd. Timely disclosure: Notice regarding the acquisition of shares accompanying the transfer of a subsidiary (12 December 2024; title of the English version, link to the Japanese disclosure). Fujitsu Optical Components' lines of business and results for the three most recent years. https://www.furukawaelectric.com/release/2024/kei_20241212.pdf
  16. 1FINITY Inc. Corporate information (company profile and affiliates) and official website. https://www.1finity.co.jp/

14. Claim-to-source audit

Claim in the articleCategorySource
The definition of Network Products, revenue rising from ¥181.6 billion to ¥193.6 billion (up 6.6%), the explanation of higher profit, R&D expenses, headcount, the founding of the U.S. subsidiary in 1997, and the optical transmission system manufacturing facilities at the Oyama PlantSourcedReference 1 https://global.fujitsu/-/media/Project/Fujitsu/Fujitsu-HQ/ir/documents/secreport/126/126_Securities_Report.pdf?sc_lang=ja-JP
The spin-off of 1FINITY (1 July 2025, with 8,000 shares of common stock allotted to Fujitsu)SourcedReference 1 https://global.fujitsu/-/media/Project/Fujitsu/Fujitsu-HQ/ir/documents/secreport/126/126_Securities_Report.pdf?sc_lang=ja-JP
Consolidated revenue of ¥3,502.9 billion and adjusted operating profit of ¥390.5 billion, Network Products revenue by quarter and ¥36.1 billion in Q1 FY2026SourcedReference 2 https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Financial-Summary-ja.pdf
The company's explanation that at Network Products' scale the business makes quarterly losses and that revenue is concentrated in Q4SourcedReference 3 https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Questions-and-Answers-ja.pdf
The reportable segment structure, securities code 6702 and stock exchange listingsSourcedReference 4 https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Financial-Results-ja.pdf
Outline of 1FINITY (about 1,800 employees, about 4,600 in the group, 100% Fujitsu), its priorities and the origin of the brandSourcedReference 5 https://pr.fujitsu.com/jp/news/2025/04/24-1.pdf
1FINITY's start of operations and its products and softwareSourcedReference 6 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-a-fujitsu-company-commences-operations-and-reveals-brand-identity
The specifications, launch timing and target customers of the L1000/L2000 OLS, and that it is a result of research commissioned by NICTSourcedReference 7 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-unveils-next-generation-optical-line-system-for-the-ai-era-and-beyond
The 2024 agreement with Chunghwa Telecom and the two-year strategic collaboration of 2026SourcedReference 8 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/chunghwa-telecom-fujitsu-1finity-all-photonics-network-taiwan
The collaboration with Edgecore and Liqid, and the supply of the P300 series and optical NICsSourcedReference 9 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/accton-edgecore-1finity-liqid-all-photonic-datacenter-connectivity
The strategic partnership with ArrcusSourcedReference 10 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-fujitsu-arrcus-strategic-partnership-ai-network-solutions
The collaboration with Fraunhofer HHI and government support for SHINKASourcedReference 11 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/fraunhofer-hhi-and-1finity-launch-cooperation-on-open-optical-networking-research
The memorandum of understanding with Accton on manufacturing at the Oyama PlantSourcedReference 12 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/1finity-accton-strategic-manufacturing-taiwan
The Watt-Bit vision trial under a NEDO survey projectSourcedReference 13 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/distributed-ai-processing-infrastructure-watt-bit
The adoption of ITU-T Recommendation Y.3335 and the seven Japanese companies involvedSourcedReference 14 https://www.1finity.co.jp/newsroom/press-release/low-latency-energy-efficient-networks-ITU-T
Fujitsu Optical Components' lines of business, its net sales of ¥13.6 billion and operating loss of ¥10.2 billion in the year to March 2024, and its acquisition by Furukawa ElectricSourcedReference 15 https://www.furukawaelectric.com/release/2024/kei_20241212.pdf
1FINITY's head office and affiliates (including the location of 1Finity Works)SourcedReference 16 https://www.1finity.co.jp/
Network Products at 5.5% of consolidated revenueOur calculationThis article's division of figures from references 1 and 2
The three types of optical communications companyOur calculationOur own classification. Companies shown are examples from those in this series
Revenue and profit for optical transport alone, medium-term targets, 1FINITY's capital expenditure, OLS customers, suppliers of optical componentsNot yet confirmedNot in references 1 to 7. Figures from press reports are not used https://resources.global.fujitsu/prir/2026/07/2026Q1-Financial-Summary-ja.pdf
The reading that Fujitsu will own no components and compete on equipment and software, and the reading that it takes an open, multi-vendor stanceInferenceThis article's interpretation of references 5, 7, 10 and 11
The reading that it plays the role of taking the APN outside Japan, and that it is keeping the plant busyInferenceThis article's interpretation of references 8, 12 and 14
The reading that the series of moves responds to a lack of scaleInferenceThis article's interpretation of references 3, 5, 12 and 15
The explanation of the difference between the C and L bands in EDFAs and the difficulty of a continuous bandNot yet confirmedThis article's explanation, based on general knowledge of optical amplification
The risk of dependence on outside optical componentsInferenceThis article's interpretation of reference 15

Last updated 26 September 2026 / Troy Technical
Every figure in this article comes from the Annual Securities Report, financial results materials and press releases published by Fujitsu Limited and 1FINITY Inc., and from Furukawa Electric's timely disclosure. No research-firm estimates or press-based figures have been used. Passages marked "Inference" are this article's interpretation of primary sources, not statements made by the company.

🌐 Japanese