MENU

Lightmatter | Company Profile | Photonics

Back to Technology, Institution & Company Guides

COMPANY PROFILE / OPTICAL COMMUNICATIONS & PHOTONICS

Lightmatter
The 3D-stacked optical I/O start-up that wants to free chips from the limits of their edges

Lightmatter is a privately held U.S. company that develops optical interconnects, the links that carry data between GPUs and switches inside AI data centres. It was founded in 2017 by researchers from MIT, and according to its website it has raised US$850 million and is valued at US$4.4 billion. It does not publish its revenue. The reason its name keeps coming up in this field is its distinctive approach of stacking electronic chips vertically on top of a photonic integrated circuit (PIC), together with a rapid run of product and partnership announcements through 2025 and 2026. Using only the company's official releases and website, this profile separates what is in volume production, what is sampling and what is a demonstration.

Sources: the official website of Lightmatter, Inc. (company and product pages) and its official press releases from October 2024 to September 2026, used as primary material. Last updated September 2026.

What this article covers
  1. Lightmatter in 30 seconds, and where it stands in optical communications and photonics
  2. The logo and how the name is written
  3. Where the company sits in optical communications and photonics
  4. Scale (revenue is not disclosed, so we look at funding)
  5. Resources committed to optical communications and photonics
  6. What it has done so far
  7. What comes next
  8. What the company is aiming for in optical communications and photonics
  9. Map of partnerships in optical communications and photonics
  10. Technologies, products and services
  11. The risks this company carries
  12. Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit

1. Lightmatter in 30 seconds, and where it stands in optical communications and photonics

LEGAL NAMELightmatter, Inc.As given in the trademark notice at the end of its releases
HEADQUARTERSMountain View,
California, U.S.
Also Boston, Hsinchu (Taiwan) and Toronto
LISTINGPrivateFounded in 2017 by MIT researchers
CATEGORY IN THIS FIELDOptical components & modules
(optical I/O start-up)
Owns no fab; manufacturing is outsourced to foundries and OSATs
WHERE IT WORKS WITH LIGHTOptical interconnect
inside the data centre
Scale-up and scale-out links between GPUs and switches
TOTAL FUNDING RAISEDUS$850 millionValuation US$4.4 billion (as stated on its website)
CORE PRODUCTSPassage (optical engines)
Guide (laser light source)
Plus vClick, a detachable fibre connection
STAGE IN 2026Evaluation kits
and samples
No volume shipments announced
The one thing to grasp first

This series sorts companies in optical communications and photonics into three types: optical components & modules, chips & foundries, and network systems & carriers. Lightmatter belongs on the optical components & modules side, as an optical I/O start-up. What it makes, though, is quite different from what a conventional optical transceiver maker sells. Its core product, Passage, stacks an electronic IC (EIC) on top of a photonic IC (PIC) in 3D using chip-on-wafer techniques, and the company describes Passage as "the world's first 3D-stacked silicon photonics engine" Sourced. The aim is to remove the constraint that a chip's input/output (I/O) can only be placed along its edge, or shoreline. Because the edge grows more slowly than the area, the bigger a chip gets, the more it runs short of I/O. Lightmatter's answer is to stack vertically and bring I/O out across the whole face of the chip.

2. The logo and how the name is written

The Lightmatter logo is a trademark of the company. We have not recreated it with generated imagery; the logo image (SVG) used in the header of the official website is placed here as img/lightmatter_logo.svg. The design is a monogram of the letters "LM" drawn in line.

A note on names: the legal entity is Lightmatter, Inc. Its official releases write Lightmatter®, and the product names Passage® and Guide®, with registered trademark symbols. Japanese-language coverage writes the name phonetically in katakana; this series uses the Latin-alphabet name throughout. Passage is the brand for the optical engines as a whole, and model names such as L200, L20 and M1000 sit beneath it.

Official site: https://lightmatter.co/about/

3. Where the company sits in optical communications and photonics

Three types of company in optical communications and photonics All of them are optical communications companies, yet where they handle light differs completely Optical components & modules Chips & foundries Network systems & carriers Sell parts to emit and detect light Make chips that connect to optics Build and run optical networks Lumentum / Coherent InnoLight / Ayar Labs, etc. NVIDIA / Broadcom TSMC / Intel, etc. NTT / Ciena Nokia / Cisco, etc. Mass-producing lasers, packaging Sell into switches and GPUs Long-haul and operations know-how Heavily reliant on big customers Often rely on others for optics Data-centre tech changes fast Lightmatter is the optical I/O start-up at far left: it designs engines and lasers but owns no fab Chips from GlobalFoundries, TSMC and Tower; packaging by ASE and Amkor; sold to GPU and switch makers
Fig. 1 The three types of company in optical communications and photonics, and where Lightmatter sits. The classification is our own, and the companies shown are examples drawn from those covered in this series Our calculation. That Lightmatter leaves manufacturing to foundries and OSATs is based on its official website (partnerships with TSMC, GlobalFoundries and Tower) and its official releases (GlobalFoundries, ASE and Amkor).

In terms of where it works with light, Lightmatter covers short distances inside the data centre, from within a rack to between racks Sourced. The reach given on its product pages is "10 m to 2 km (DR/FR)" for the L200, and more than 500 m over single-mode fibre for the Passage L20 CPX. It does not work on long-haul transmission such as intercity or submarine links, nor on sensing such as LiDAR. It sits squarely in the territory covered by our explainers on co-packaged optics and on optical interconnects and SerDes.

AspectWhere Lightmatter standsCategory
TypeOptical components & modules (optical I/O start-up). Has no fab of its ownSourced
Where it works with lightOptical interconnect inside the data centre (XPU to XPU, and XPU to switch), plus the light source (lasers) for it and the fibre connection hardwareSourced
Where its products sitIt has products for every position: inside the same package as the chip (CPO), on the board right next to the chip (NPO), at the board edge (OBO), as a pluggable module (XPO), and as a socketed module mounted on the board (CPX)Sourced
Long-haul and carrier networksNot coveredSourced

4. Scale (revenue is not disclosed, so we look at funding)

Why there is no revenue table here

Lightmatter is privately held and does not publish revenue, profit or headcount Not yet confirmed. That makes a revenue trend table impossible. Instead, we show its scale through the funding, valuation, locations and leadership it describes on its website and in its releases.

ItemDetailCategory
Founded2017, by researchers from MITSourced
Total funding raisedUS$850 millionSourced
ValuationUS$4.4 billionSourced
Latest funding roundOn 16 October 2024 it announced a US$400 million Series D that quadrupled its valuation to US$4.4 billion (as stated in the release title)Sourced
LocationsMountain View (headquarters), Boston, Hsinchu (Taiwan) and TorontoSourced
LeadershipNicholas Harris, founder and CEO; Darius Bunandar, founder and chief scientist; and others. CFO Simona Jankowski joined from NVIDIA in July 2024Sourced
Revenue and profitNot publishedNot disclosed
HeadcountNot publishedNot disclosed

One detail worth noticing is that Hsinchu in Taiwan is among its locations. GUC, with which it announced a partnership in January 2026, is based in Hsinchu, and the GUC company description in that release says TSMC is "GUC's single largest shareholder" and its "sole foundry supplier" Sourced. In other words, Lightmatter has put people close to the partners it relies on for manufacturing.

5. Resources committed to optical communications and photonics

Lightmatter does nothing but optical interconnects and their light sources, so all of the company's resources point at this field. The question is how much of the detail has been made public.

Type of resourceWhat it isCategory
People (dedicated organisation and staff)The whole company is dedicated to this field. The website lists among its leadership an SVP of engineering and operations, a VP of photonics and silicon design, a VP of supply chain and a VP of product engineering, among others. Headcount is not publishedSourced / headcount not disclosed
Money (investment and R&D spending)US$850 million raised in total. R&D spending and capital expenditure are not publishedSourced / breakdown not disclosed
Outside investments, acquisitions and joint venturesNo investment, acquisition or joint venture by Lightmatter in another company appears in the official releases we checkedNot confirmed
Outsourced manufacturingThe website names TSMC, GlobalFoundries and Tower as partners for high-volume capability. The M1000 uses GF Fotonix, GlobalFoundries' silicon photonics platform, and is being readied for volume production with GlobalFoundries and Amkor. The L200 is to be manufactured in volume with GlobalFoundries, ASE and AmkorSourced
Universities and research institutesThe founders are MIT researchers. However, no joint research agreement with a university has been announced that we could findSourced / no agreement confirmed
Public funding (CHIPS Act, AIM Photonics and the like)No award of public funding appears in the official releases or on the website we checkedNot confirmed
A caution when reading about start-ups

Lightmatter publishes its total funding and its valuation, but how much cash it still has and how much it spends each year are unknown Not yet confirmed. For a listed start-up, statutory filings let you work out how many years the cash will last; for a private company like Lightmatter, that cannot be done. "A US$4.4 billion company" is a valuation set by investors, and says nothing about the size of its revenue or profit.

6. What it has done so far

WhenWhat happenedWhy it matters
2017Founded by researchers from MITAs stated on the website
July 2024Simona Jankowski, formerly of NVIDIA, becomes CFOBrought in its finance chief from a major chip company
October 2024US$400 million Series D, valuation US$4.4 billionThe most recent funding round announced to date
December 2024Joins the UALink Consortium as a Contributor memberTakes part in setting the interconnect standard between AI accelerators
March 2025Announces Passage M1000 (3D photonic interposer, 114 Tbps total) and Passage L200 (3D CPO, 32 Tbps / 64 Tbps)The product line took shape. The M1000 was announced for summer 2025 and the L200 for 2026
August 2025Demonstrates a 16-wavelength bidirectional DWDM link over a single strand of single-mode fibre (800 Gbps per fibre, transmit and receive combined)A technology demonstration, not a production product
January 2026Announces the Guide laser light source (VLSP technology). On the same day announces partnerships with GUC, Synopsys and CadenceBrought the light source in house and lined up partners on the chip design side
March 2026Sampling of a Passage CPO chiplet built with Qualcomm (1.6 Tbps per fibre). Announces Passage L20 for NPO/OBO and vClick, a detachable fibre connection. Joins the XPO MSA as a founding member. Proposes a reference architecture initiative for CPO within OCPWidened its offer from 3D CPO alone to products that fit into existing chassis
May 2026Announces Guide DR, a liquid-cooled laser light source card (OCP NIC 3.0 form factor)Proposes moving the light source from the front panel into the chassis
June 2026Joins the NVIDIA NVLink Fusion ecosystemCommits to CPO/NPO products compatible with NVIDIA's optical and SerDes technology
August 2026A formal OCP workstream, Open Silicon Photonics for AI Systems, is launched by 19 companies, with a 300-page white paperA move to make the rack-level CPO architecture an industry standard
September 2026Joins the Open CPX MSA and announces the bidirectional Passage L20 CPXEvaluation kits expected to ship in January to March 2027

7. What comes next

GUIDE DR (LASER SOURCE)Sampling to start
October to December 2026
The schedule the company has announced
PASSAGE L20 (NPO/OBO)Sampling to start
in late 2026
Specifications are preliminary
PASSAGE L20 CPXEvaluation kits to ship
January to March 2027
Specifications are preliminary
FIRST OCP SPECIFICATIONExpected to be submitted
October to December 2026
By the 19-company workstream

For Guide, the company has set out a laser roadmap that scales "from 1 to 64 wavelengths and beyond", and it says the Passage L-Series engines are "on track to deliver 100 Tbps and beyond" Not yet confirmed. Neither statement comes with a date.

What could not be confirmed

None of the following appears in the official releases or on the website Not yet confirmed.

When volume shipments will start; the names of customers that have adopted its products (the releases say only "hyperscalers" or "lead customers"); revenue; production capacity; product prices; and the current shipping status of the L200, which was announced in March 2025 as available in 2026. Stories of the form "Lightmatter wins company X" are mostly based on press reports, and this article does not use them.

8. What the company is aiming for in optical communications and photonics

This section goes beyond what the company says directly. It sets out inferences that can be drawn from primary sources, each with its basis.

What can be readPrimary evidence behind itCategory
The goal is to make bringing optical I/O out across the whole face of the chip, not just its edge, the industry normThe L200, M1000 and GUC releases all take removing the "shoreline" constraint as their central themeSourced
It wants to own not just the optical engine but the light source (lasers) as wellThe Guide release discusses the limits of conventional external lasers (ELSFP) at length, and positions Guide as a product that can also be paired with other companies' NPO/CPOInference
2026 is a year for widening the ways customers can adopt itBeyond 3D CPO, its range now covers NPO/OBO that fits existing chassis as is (L20), pluggable XPO and socketed CPX. The L20 release says partners can "accelerate their time-to-market using existing chassis architectures"Inference
It wants to lead the CPO supply chain and standards-setting itselfIt announced that it proposed the OCP workstream and brought the 19 companies together. It is a founding member of the XPO MSA and has also joined the Open CPX MSAInference
In the long run it has not given up on computing with light itselfThe website says it builds "interconnects, lasers, and eventually compute itself". No timing is givenSourced
One inference, explained in full

In March 2025, what Lightmatter put front and centre were 3D CPO (L200) and the 3D photonic interposer (M1000). Both assume that the customer's GPU or switch chip is stacked on top of Lightmatter's photonic chip, which means the customer has to make substantial changes to its chip design and packaging. The L20, released in March 2026, is different: it mounts on the board through an IEEE 802.3dj-compliant electrical interface, and an analyst quoted in the release praises it for enabling integration "into existing rack systems without requiring changes to XPU or switch chip designs" Sourced. This was followed by joining NVIDIA's NVLink Fusion in June and the Open CPX MSA in September. We read this sequence as the company keeping its leading-edge 3D approach as the flagship while first building a shipping track record in forms customers find easier to adopt Not yet confirmed. The company has not explained the reason for this shift, however, and this remains our interpretation.

9. Map of partnerships in optical communications and photonics

Lightmatter's optical interconnect partnerships Only ties stated in official releases or on the official site; press-reported ties are excluded Fab and packaging partners (navy) Chip, IP, component partners (orange) Standards and ecosystems (dotted) Lightmatter I/O and lasers GlobalFoundries M1000 uses GF Fotonix TSMC / Tower Volume capacity (official site) ASE L200 production, vClick packaging Amkor Packaging for M1000 and L200 Qualcomm (ex-Alphawave) Integrates SerDes chiplets GUC CPO into customer ASICs Synopsys / Cadence SerDes and UCIe IP SENKO Detachable fibre connection NVIDIA Joined NVLink Fusion OCP Leads 19-company group XPO / Open CPX MSAs (XPO founder) UALink Consortium member
Fig. 2 Lightmatter's optical interconnect partnerships. Sources: Lightmatter's official releases (December 2024 to September 2026) and the company page on its official website. Navy on the left marks manufacturing and packaging partners, orange on the right marks chip, IP and component partners, and the grey dotted lines at the bottom mark participation in standards bodies and ecosystems. TSMC and Tower are named on the website only as partners that "ensure high-volume capability"; which products they relate to has not been disclosed. The GUC company description in the partnership release states that TSMC is its largest shareholder, with 35%. The investors in the Series D are not shown because we could not confirm their names individually in the primary sources we were able to check.

10. Technologies, products and services

A performance figure means something entirely different depending on whether it comes from a product in volume production, a sample or a demonstration. The table below always states the stage. Claims of "world's first" or "industry first" are all the company's own.

Product or technologyWhat it doesMain figures the company givesStage (as announced by the company)
Passage M10003D photonic interposer. A reference platform that stacks 32 I/O chiplets on a photonic chip of more than 4,000 mm²114 Tbps in total (114.6 Tbps on the product page), 256 fibres × 448 Gbps, 8 wavelengths, 2.3 pJ/bit including the laserAnnounced for summer 2025. Now offered as an evaluation kit (EVK)
Passage L200 / L200X3D CPO. An optical engine with an electronic chip (EIC) stacked on a photonic chip (PIC). The company calls it "the world's first 3D co-packaged optics (CPO) product"32 Tbps / 64 Tbps (transmit and receive combined), over 200 Tbps per package, 800 Gbps / 1.6 Tbps per fibre with 16 wavelengths, under 5 pJ/bit for the opticsAnnounced in March 2025 as available in 2026. Shipping status not disclosed
Passage CPO chiplet (with Qualcomm SerDes)CPO combining Qualcomm's SerDes chiplet with Passage1.6 Tbps per fibre (16-wavelength DWDM, 112G per lane). The company claims up to 8× existing NPO/CPOSampling from March 2026. Evaluation kits for lead customers
Passage EVK100An evaluation platform in a 2D multi-chip package3.2 Tbps, target link efficiency 3.2 pJ/bit (112G PAM4), 1.6 Tbps per fibre (separate transmit and receive fibres)Product page says "sampling"
Passage L20Optical engine for NPO/OBO. Mounted on the board6.4 Tbps each direction, 212.5G PAM4, 32 ports × 200G, two-wavelength bidirectional (1311 / 1331 nm), 30 W maximum, 2,000-pin BGASampling due to start in late 2026 (preliminary specifications)
Passage L20 CPXA module version of the L20 conforming to the Open CPX MSA12.8 Tbps transmit and receive combined, over 500 m on SMF, IEEE 802.3dj DR link architecture, OIF-CMISEvaluation kits expected to ship in January to March 2027 (preliminary specifications)
Guide (VLSP)A light source integrating a large number of lasersUp to 51.2 Tbps per laser module, at least 100 mW per fibre, 16 wavelengthsThe validation platform is sampling. Evaluation kits offered on a priority basis to selected partners
Guide DRA liquid-cooled light source card (OCP NIC 3.0 form factor) that moves the light source from the front panel into the chassisUp to 64 fibres × 200 mW, enough for 256 lanes of 200G, up to 51.2 Tbps. Four cards in 1RU give 204.8 TbpsSampling due to start in October to December 2026
vClick / eClickTechnology that makes the connection between the photonic chip and the fibre (the FAU) detachableInsertion and re-insertion loss under 1.5 dB. Supports a wavelength band of more than 80 nmAnnounced as demonstrated in ASE's packaging process. Product timing not disclosed
16-wavelength bidirectional linkCarries 16 wavelengths in both directions over one single-mode fibre800 Gbps per fibre, transmit and receive combined, over several hundred metres or moreA technology demonstration in August 2025
Our calculation: the L20's power expressed in pJ/bit

The L20's preliminary specifications are "30 W maximum" and "6.4 Tbps each direction". Dividing by the combined 12.8 Tbps gives about 2.3 pJ/bit Our calculation. Note, however, that this is based on maximum power (TDP), not an actual average. And since the L20 is designed to work with an external laser (such as Guide DR), it is reasonable to assume that the laser power is not included Not yet confirmed. The only figure the company explicitly states "including the laser" is the M1000's 2.3 pJ/bit, so the same number can mean different things.

A materials engineer's view: the light source's power ceiling is set by adhesives and end faces

The Guide release contains a passage that is interesting from a materials standpoint. Conventional CPO and NPO use discrete indium phosphide (InP) lasers housed in pluggable modules (ELSFP), and the company explains their limit this way: "Connector end faces and epoxy-bonded assemblies are vulnerable to thermal damage, where contamination absorbs light and can cause fiber damage at power levels as low as hundreds of milliwatts" Sourced. In other words, the claim is that when you raise laser power to gain bandwidth, the light resistance of the adhesive and glass end faces that the light passes through hits its limit first.

Lightmatter has two answers. One is Guide, which integrates many lasers so as to gain capacity from the number of fibres and wavelengths rather than from more power per fibre. The other is vClick, which makes the connection between the photonic chip and the fibre detachable, and which the company describes as "mold-and-grind compatible" with the packaging flow Sourced. Keeping the optical path intact after moulding compound encapsulation and grinding means controlling encapsulant ingress, grinding debris and misalignment from thermal history, and this is an area where the choice of optical adhesives, encapsulants and connector materials feeds straight into yield Not yet confirmed. For more, see our explainers on optical connectors and fibre attachment and on semiconductor lasers.

11. The risks this company carries

RiskSubstanceCategory
Finances not visibleAs a private company it discloses none of its revenue, profit, cash or annual spending. The sustainability of its funding cannot be checked from outsideNot yet confirmed
No volume shipments announcedAs of September 2026, official announcements go no further than "sampling", "evaluation kits" and "sampling due to start". No volume shipments or customer names have been announcedSourced
Dependence on others for manufacturingPhotonic chips are made by foundries and packaged by OSATs. The company cannot fix the processes itselfInference
Many product linesIt has announced many product lines: 3D CPO, NPO/OBO, XPO, CPX, two light sources and connection hardware. Whether it can bring them all to volume production in parallel cannot be judged from outside, because headcount is not disclosedInference
Standards may fragmentLightmatter itself is involved in the XPO MSA, the Open CPX MSA, OCP, UALink and NVLink Fusion at the same time. Which form will become mainstream is not settledInference
Deep field of competitorsOptical component makers, large chip companies and other optical I/O start-ups are all working on CPO (the types in Fig. 1). Lightmatter's differentiator is 3D stacking, but customers may manage with 2D approaches or NPOInference

12. Glossary

Optical I/O (optical interconnect)
Moving data between chips over optical fibre rather than electrical wiring. Losses stay low even as distance grows.
CPO
Co-Packaged Optics. Placing the optical engine inside the same package as the GPU or switch chip.
NPO / OBO
Near-Package Optics / On-Board Optics. Placing the optical engine right next to the chip, or at the edge of the board. Requires fewer changes to existing designs than CPO.
Shoreline
The edge of a chip. Electrical I/O can only be lined up along the edge, so making a chip bigger does not increase its I/O in proportion to its area.
PIC / EIC
Photonic integrated circuit and electronic integrated circuit. Lightmatter stacks the latter on top of the former.
DWDM
Dense wavelength division multiplexing. Sending many beams of slightly different colours down one fibre to increase bandwidth.
SerDes
A circuit that converts parallel data inside a chip into a high-speed serial signal for transmission and back again. The electrical entry point to an optical engine.
pJ/bit
The energy used to send one bit. Lower means more power-efficient. The value changes depending on whether laser power is included.
ELSFP
External Laser Small Form Factor Pluggable. A laser light source for CPO packaged as a pluggable module.
MSA
Multi-Source Agreement. An industry agreement that lets several companies make parts of the same shape and specification.
Concept diagram: electronic chips stacked vertically on a photonic circuit board, with optical fibres leaving from across its whole face
Fig. 3 Concept diagram of Lightmatter's 3D-stacked optical I/O. This is an AI-generated concept image and does not depict actual products or equipment.

13. References

  1. Lightmatter, Inc. Official website, "About". Founded in 2017 by MIT researchers, US$850 million raised, US$4.4 billion valuation, locations (Mountain View headquarters, Boston, Hsinchu, Toronto), leadership, partnerships with TSMC, GlobalFoundries and Tower, and the phrase "eventually compute itself". https://lightmatter.co/about/
  2. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Raises $400M Series D; Quadruples Valuation to $4.4B as Photonics Leader for Next-Gen AI Data Centers" (16 October 2024). Title and date checked. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-raises-400m-series-d-quadruples-valuation-to-4-4b-as-photonics-leader-for-next-gen-ai-data-centers/
  3. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release listing. Titles and dates of each release, including "Lightmatter Announces NVIDIA Executive Simona Jankowski as Chief Financial Officer" (1 July 2024). https://lightmatter.co/press-releases/
  4. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Joins UALink Consortium to Propel AI Interconnect into the Photonic Era" (18 December 2024). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-ualink-consortium-to-propel-ai-interconnect-into-the-photonic-era/
  5. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Unveils Passage M1000 Photonic Superchip, World's Fastest AI Interconnect" (31 March 2025). M1000 specifications, GF Fotonix, preparation for volume production with GlobalFoundries and Amkor, availability in summer 2025. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-unveils-passage-m1000-photonic-superchip-worlds-fastest-ai-interconnect/
  6. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Announces Passage L200, the Fastest Co-Packaged Optics for AI" (31 March 2025). L200/L200X specifications, Alphawave Semi's EIC, volume manufacturing with GlobalFoundries, ASE and Amkor, availability in 2026. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-announces-passage-l200-the-fastest-co-packaged-optics-for-ai/
  7. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Achieves World-First 16-Wavelength Bidirectional Link on Single-Mode Optical Fiber" (18 August 2025). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-achieves-world-first-16-wavelength-bidirectional-link-on-single-mode-optical-fiber/
  8. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Introduces Guide Light Engine for AI, Featuring VLSP Technology" (26 January 2026). Guide specifications, the explanation of ELSFP limits, sampling status. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-introduces-guide-light-engine-for-ai-featuring-vlsp-technology/
  9. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter and GUC Partner to Produce Co-Packaged Optics (CPO) Solutions for AI Hyperscalers" (26 January 2026). The GUC partnership and GUC's shareholding (TSMC holds 35%). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-and-guc-partner-to-produce-co-packaged-optics-cpo-solutions-for-ai-hyperscalers/
  10. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Collaborates with Synopsys to Integrate Advanced Interface IP with Its Passage Co-Packaged Optics Platform" (26 January 2026). Integration of 224G SerDes and UCIe IP for 3 nm. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-collaborates-with-synopsys-to-integrate-advanced-interface-ip-with-its-passage-co-packaged-optics-platform/
  11. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter and Cadence Collaborate to Accelerate Optical Interconnect for AI Infrastructure" (26 January 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-and-cadence-collaborate-to-accelerate-optical-interconnect-for-ai-infrastructure/
  12. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Achieves Record 1.6 Tbps Per Fiber to Accelerate AI Optical Interconnect" (11 March 2026). Collaboration with Qualcomm, sampling, evaluation kits. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-achieves-record-1-6-tbps-per-fiber-to-accelerate-ai-optical-interconnect/
  13. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Expands Photonic Interconnect Roadmap with Passage L20 Unified Optical Engine for NPO and OBO Applications" (11 March 2026). L20 preliminary specifications and sampling timing. https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-expands-photonic-interconnect-roadmap-with-passage-l20-unified-optical-engine-for-npo-and-obo-applications/
  14. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Unveils vClick Optics, Industry-First Detachable Fiber Array Unit for CPO Advanced Packaging and High-Volume Production" (11 March 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-unveils-vclick-optics-industry-first-detachable-fiber-array-unit-for-cpo-advanced-packaging-and-high-volume-production/
  15. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Joins XPO MSA as Founding Member to Accelerate High-Density Optical Interconnects for AI Data Centers" (12 March 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-xpo-msa-as-founding-member-to-accelerate-high-density-optical-interconnects-for-ai-data-centers/
  16. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Announces Reference Architecture Initiative with Industry Leaders in the Open Compute Project for Co-Packaged Optics" (16 March 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-announces-reference-architecture-initiative-with-industry-leaders-in-the-open-compute-project-for-co-packaged-optics/
  17. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Unveils Guide DR: Industry First Liquid-Cooled Laser NIC that Quadruples Rack Density" (21 May 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-unveils-guide-dr-industry-first-liquid-cooled-laser-nic-that-quadruples-rack-density/
  18. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Joins NVIDIA NVLink Fusion and Powers Next-Generation AI Infrastructure with Photonic Interconnects" (June 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-nvidia-nvlink-fusion/
  19. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Industry Leaders Formally Launch CPO System Architecture Initiative Within the Open Compute Project" (13 August 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/industry-leaders-formally-launch-cpo-system-architecture-initiative-within-the-open-compute-project/
  20. Lightmatter, Inc. Press release, "Lightmatter Joins Open CPX MSA, Introduces the Industry's First Bidirectional CPX Optical Engine" (17 September 2026). https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-open-cpx-msa-introduces-the-industrys-first-bidirectional-cpx-optical-engine/
  21. Lightmatter, Inc. Product page, "Passage L200". 32 to 64 Tbps, under 5 pJ/bit for the optics, reach of 10 m to 2 km. https://lightmatter.co/products/l200/
  22. Lightmatter, Inc. Product page, "Passage M1000 EVK". 114.6 Tbps, 2.3 pJ/bit including the laser, 32 I/O chiplets. https://lightmatter.co/products/passage-m1000-evk/
  23. Lightmatter, Inc. Product page, "Passage EVK100". 3.2 Tbps, 3.2 pJ/bit target, sampling. https://lightmatter.co/products/passage-evk100/

14. Claim-to-source audit

Claim in the articleCategorySource
Founded in 2017, US$850 million raised, US$4.4 billion valuation, locations, leadershipSourcedReference 1 https://lightmatter.co/about/
Partnerships with TSMC, GlobalFoundries and Tower for high-volume capabilitySourcedReference 1 https://lightmatter.co/about/
The phrase "interconnects, lasers, and eventually compute itself"SourcedReference 1 https://lightmatter.co/about/
US$400 million Series D in October 2024, US$4.4 billion valuationSourcedReference 2 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-raises-400m-series-d-quadruples-valuation-to-4-4b-as-photonics-leader-for-next-gen-ai-data-centers/
Simona Jankowski, formerly of NVIDIA, became CFO in July 2024SourcedReference 3 https://lightmatter.co/press-releases/
Joined the UALink Consortium (December 2024)SourcedReference 4 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-ualink-consortium-to-propel-ai-interconnect-into-the-photonic-era/
M1000 specifications (114 Tbps, over 4,000 mm², 256 fibres, 8 wavelengths and others), GF Fotonix, preparation for volume production with GF and AmkorSourcedReferences 5 and 22 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-unveils-passage-m1000-photonic-superchip-worlds-fastest-ai-interconnect/
M1000 EVK: 2.3 pJ/bit including the laser, 114.6 TbpsSourcedReference 22 https://lightmatter.co/products/passage-m1000-evk/
L200/L200X specifications, the company's claim of "the world's first 3D co-packaged optics (CPO) product", Alphawave Semi's EIC, volume manufacturing with GF, ASE and Amkor, planned availability in 2026SourcedReference 6 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-announces-passage-l200-the-fastest-co-packaged-optics-for-ai/
L200: under 5 pJ/bit for the optics, reach of 10 m to 2 kmSourcedReference 21 https://lightmatter.co/products/l200/
Technology demonstration of a 16-wavelength bidirectional link (August 2025)SourcedReference 7 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-achieves-world-first-16-wavelength-bidirectional-link-on-single-mode-optical-fiber/
Guide specifications and sampling, and the company's explanation of ELSFP limits (thermal damage at end faces and epoxy)SourcedReference 8 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-introduces-guide-light-engine-for-ai-featuring-vlsp-technology/
Partnership with GUC; TSMC is GUC's largest shareholder (35%)SourcedReference 9 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-and-guc-partner-to-produce-co-packaged-optics-cpo-solutions-for-ai-hyperscalers/
Collaboration with Synopsys (224G SerDes and UCIe IP for 3 nm)SourcedReference 10 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-collaborates-with-synopsys-to-integrate-advanced-interface-ip-with-its-passage-co-packaged-optics-platform/
Collaboration with Cadence (SerDes and UCIe IP)SourcedReference 11 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-and-cadence-collaborate-to-accelerate-optical-interconnect-for-ai-infrastructure/
Sampling of the CPO chiplet built with Qualcomm, 1.6 Tbps per fibre, the company's claim of up to 8×SourcedReference 12 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-achieves-record-1-6-tbps-per-fiber-to-accelerate-ai-optical-interconnect/
EVK100: 3.2 Tbps, 3.2 pJ/bit target, samplingSourcedReference 23 https://lightmatter.co/products/passage-evk100/
L20 preliminary specifications (6.4 Tbps each direction, 30 W maximum and others), sampling planned for late 2026, the analyst's commentSourcedReference 13 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-expands-photonic-interconnect-roadmap-with-passage-l20-unified-optical-engine-for-npo-and-obo-applications/
Conversion of the L20's power to about 2.3 pJ/bitOur calculationCalculated in this article as 30 W ÷ 12.8 Tbps from reference 13. Based on the maximum, excluding the laser https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-expands-photonic-interconnect-roadmap-with-passage-l20-unified-optical-engine-for-npo-and-obo-applications/
vClick (under 1.5 dB, SENKO, demonstrated in ASE's process) and eClickSourcedReference 14 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-unveils-vclick-optics-industry-first-detachable-fiber-array-unit-for-cpo-advanced-packaging-and-high-volume-production/
Joined the XPO MSA as a founding member (led by Arista)SourcedReference 15 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-xpo-msa-as-founding-member-to-accelerate-high-density-optical-interconnects-for-ai-data-centers/
Proposal of a reference architecture initiative in OCP (March 2026)SourcedReference 16 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-announces-reference-architecture-initiative-with-industry-leaders-in-the-open-compute-project-for-co-packaged-optics/
Guide DR specifications and sampling planned for October to December 2026SourcedReference 17 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-unveils-guide-dr-industry-first-liquid-cooled-laser-nic-that-quadruples-rack-density/
Joined the NVIDIA NVLink Fusion ecosystemSourcedReference 18 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-nvidia-nvlink-fusion/
Formal launch of the OCP workstream (19 companies), the 300-page white paper, first specification expected in October to December 2026SourcedReference 19 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/industry-leaders-formally-launch-cpo-system-architecture-initiative-within-the-open-compute-project/
Joined the Open CPX MSA, L20 CPX specifications, evaluation kits expected to ship in January to March 2027SourcedReference 20 https://lightmatter.co/press-release/lightmatter-joins-open-cpx-msa-introduces-the-industrys-first-bidirectional-cpx-optical-engine/
The three types of company in optical communications and photonicsOur calculationOur own classification. Companies shown are examples from those covered in this series
Revenue, profit, headcount, cash and R&D spendingNot yet confirmedNone is disclosed, and this article makes no estimate https://lightmatter.co/about/
Start of volume shipments, customer names, production capacity, prices, current shipping status of the L200Not yet confirmedNot in references 1 to 23. Information from press reports is not used https://lightmatter.co/press-releases/
Outside investments, acquisitions and joint ventures, joint research agreements with universities, public funding awardsNot yet confirmedNot in the primary sources we checked. This article does not conclude that none exists https://lightmatter.co/press-releases/
Names of the Series D investorsNot yet confirmedThe body of reference 2 is available only as a PDF, and this article could not confirm individual investor names from primary sources, so none are given
The reading that it wants to own the light source as well as the optical engineInferenceThis article's interpretation of reference 8
The reading that 2026 is a year for widening the ways customers can adopt itInferenceThis article's interpretation of the sequence in references 13, 18 and 20
The reading that it wants to lead the CPO supply chain and standards-settingInferenceThis article's interpretation of references 15, 16, 19 and 20
The view that connection materials (optical adhesives, encapsulants) affect yieldInferenceThis article's commentary based on references 8 and 14
Risks of dependence on others for manufacturing, many product lines, fragmented standards and competitionInferenceThis article's interpretation of the partnership structure and product announcements

Last updated 25 September 2026 / Troy Technical
Every figure in this article comes from the official website and official press releases of Lightmatter, Inc. No research-firm estimates or press-based figures have been used (nor have the research-firm market forecasts quoted in the releases). Passages marked "Inference" are this article's interpretation of primary sources, not statements made by the company.

🌐 Japanese