INSTITUTION PROFILE / OPTICAL COMMUNICATIONS & PHOTONICS
AIM Photonics
A Pentagon-funded hub for prototyping and packaging photonic integrated circuits
AIM Photonics (the American Institute for Manufacturing Integrated Photonics) is one of the Manufacturing Innovation Institutes set up by the U.S. Department of Defense, and is based in Albany, New York. It offers member companies, universities and government agencies a 300 mm silicon photonics line on which several users can share a wafer for prototyping (multi-project wafer, or MPW, runs), together with packaging and test facilities. It is neither a standards body nor an agency that hands out subsidies to companies at large. This profile looks at one question only: how much influence AIM Photonics actually has over optical communications and photonics.
- AIM Photonics in 30 seconds
- What kind of body it is: the four types of influence
- What it does in optical communications and photonics
- How far its influence reaches (powers and geography)
- Money flows and users
- Outlook
- Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit
1. AIM Photonics in 30 seconds
AIM Photonics is a shared prototyping and packaging facility for building up the United States' domestic capability to make photonic integrated circuits. Its stated mission is to advance the development of photonic integrated circuit manufacturing technology in the United States. It focuses mainly on manufacturing readiness levels (MRL) 4 to 7, and says it also supports the transition to levels 8 and 9 Sourced. Its member list is made up of defence contractors (Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, L3Harris and others), universities, national laboratories and design software companies. None of the major suppliers of data centre optical components covered in this series appears by name (see section 5). Its influence on optical communications comes less through data centre products themselves than through the domestic prototyping and packaging base and the people it trains.
2. What kind of body it is: the four types of influence
Unlike the companies in this series, the institutions that appear in our optical communications and photonics coverage do not sell optical components. What separates them is the route by which they influence the industry, and that gives four types.
3. What it does in optical communications and photonics
| Service | Location | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| MPW (shared prototyping runs) | Albany NanoTech Complex (New York) | Prototyping on 300 mm wafers. Five types of photonic integrated circuit combining silicon and silicon nitride waveguides, germanium photodetectors and other elements (base active, base passive, silicon nitride passive, low-loss active, and QFlex). More than 200,000 square feet of cleanroom |
| InP prototyping | Sandia National Laboratories (New Mexico) | Indium phosphide (InP) MPW runs, offered to complement silicon photonics |
| Test, assembly and packaging (TAP) | Rochester (New York) | Packaging, assembly and testing of photonics and electronics. Full members get special pricing and can book it together with an MPW run |
| Design support | — | Process design kits (PDKs). In May 2026 it announced an assembly design kit to help with packaging design |
| Workforce training | — | Courses, internships, a summer academy, and packaging and test workshops |
According to the Manufacturing USA website, AIM Photonics announced an assembly design kit in May 2026, with the aim of building packaging constraints into the design flow, where designers had previously relied on consultations with packaging staff Sourced. For photonic integrated circuits, packaging steps such as fibre attachment and encapsulation drive cost and yield. For suppliers of packaging materials, the packaging rules of a public prototyping facility like this one could become the benchmark for choosing materials at the prototype stage (this is our own view).
4. How far its influence reaches (powers and geography)
| Aspect | What AIM Photonics has | What it does not have |
|---|---|---|
| Powers | Provides prototyping and packaging facilities and services, and gives members special pricing and institute-funded opportunities (government-directed projects, design competitions and the like) | Power to set standards or regulations |
| Geography | The United States. Its mission is to develop photonic integrated circuit manufacturing technology in the U.S. | Freedom to admit organisations from outside the U.S. (membership requires additional government review and approval) |
| Funding | US$321 million over seven years from 29 September 2021 (US$165 million federal, more than US$156 million non-federal) | Funding on a scale that could support companies' investment in volume production |
| Governance | A Leadership Council chaired by the State University of New York, and a Strategic Advisory Board made up of members and others | — |
The 2021 agreement runs for seven years, so it reaches its end point around September 2028 Our calculation. How federal funding will be handled after that is not stated in the primary information checked for this article Not yet confirmed. Note also that AIM Photonics' website names its sponsor as the "Department of War", whereas at the time of the 2021 announcement the name was the Department of Defense.
5. Money flows and users
How AIM Photonics relates to the companies in this series
The member list (full members and observers) as checked in September 2026 does not include any of the candidate companies for this series (NVIDIA, Broadcom, Intel, TSMC, GlobalFoundries, Lumentum, Coherent, NTT, Sumitomo Electric Industries and others) Our calculation. Among Japan-linked companies, Kyocera International and TEL Technology Center are listed as full members and Hamamatsu Corporation as an observer, and a Tokyo Electron representative sits on the Strategic Advisory Board Sourced.
6. Outlook
| What the evidence suggests | Primary information it rests on | Category |
|---|---|---|
| For now, use will centre on prototyping for defence, sensing, quantum and similar fields rather than volume products for data centres | The make-up of the membership (mainly defence contractors, national laboratories and universities). Recent news items concern sensor demonstrations and participation in a DoD technology week | Inference |
| As the agreement approaches its end point around 2028, the question of the next round of federal funding will come to the fore | A seven-year agreement starting 29 September 2021 | Inference |
| Support for packaging design will be stepped up | The assembly design kit announced in May 2026, and the operation of the TAP facility | Inference |
7. Glossary
- Manufacturing Innovation Institute (MII)
- A public-private institute run on a combination of U.S. federal money and funds from states, companies and universities. Part of the Manufacturing USA network.
- MPW
- Multi-project wafer: a prototyping approach in which designs from several users share a single wafer, cutting the prototyping cost for each.
- PDK
- Process design kit: design data describing the shapes and performance of the components a fabrication line can make.
- MRL
- Manufacturing readiness level. The higher the number, the closer to volume production.
8. References
- AIM Photonics About AIM Photonics: mission, MRL 4 to 7, the 2015 cooperative agreement, the new 2021 agreement, operator, unincorporated R&D centre, locations. https://www.aimphotonics.com/about-us
- AIM Photonics Members: lists of full members, observers and government partners. https://www.aimphotonics.com/members
- AIM Photonics Membership FAQs: additional review for non-U.S. organisations, membership categories, TAP special pricing, and institute-funded opportunities. https://www.aimphotonics.com/membership-faqs
- AIM Photonics Governance: composition of the Leadership Council and the Strategic Advisory Board. https://www.aimphotonics.com/governance
- AIM Photonics Multi-Project Wafers: 300 mm prototyping, cleanroom, five types of photonic integrated circuit, InP at Sandia, and the packaging facility in Rochester. https://www.aimphotonics.com/mpw
- AIM Photonics Official home page: one of nine Manufacturing Innovation Institutes set up by the Department of War, and recent news. https://www.aimphotonics.com/
- Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering "DoD Awards a $321 Million 7-Year Extension to the American Institute for Manufacturing Integrated Photonics" (25 October 2021). https://www.cto.mil/extension-to-aim-photonics/
- Manufacturing USA AIM Photonics institute page: location, and the announcement of the assembly design kit on 25 May 2026. https://www.manufacturingusa.com/institutes/aim-photonics
9. Claim-to-source audit
| Claim in the article | Category | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Mission, MRL 4 to 7, the 2015 and 2021 agreements, operator, locations | Sourced | Reference 1 https://www.aimphotonics.com/about-us |
| Make-up of the membership; Japan-linked members | Sourced | Reference 2 https://www.aimphotonics.com/members |
| 65 full members, 15 observers, 17 government partners; absence of candidate companies | Our calculation | Reference 2 https://www.aimphotonics.com/members |
| Additional review for non-U.S. organisations, TAP special pricing, institute-funded opportunities | Sourced | Reference 3 https://www.aimphotonics.com/membership-faqs |
| Leadership Council and Strategic Advisory Board; the Tokyo Electron representative | Sourced | Reference 4 https://www.aimphotonics.com/governance |
| 300 mm MPW, cleanroom, types of photonic integrated circuit, InP, packaging facility | Sourced | Reference 5 https://www.aimphotonics.com/mpw |
| One of nine Manufacturing Innovation Institutes; recent news | Sourced | Reference 6 https://www.aimphotonics.com/ |
| US$321 million over seven years; US$165 million federal; more than US$156 million non-federal | Sourced | Reference 7 https://www.cto.mil/extension-to-aim-photonics/ |
| Announcement of the assembly design kit | Sourced | Reference 8 https://www.manufacturingusa.com/institutes/aim-photonics |
| The four types of institution; the agreement's end point around September 2028 | Our calculation | Our own analysis (calculated from the period in reference 7) |
| Federal funding after 2028 | Not yet confirmed | Not stated in references 1 and 7; this article does not estimate it |
| The three points in the outlook (section 6) | Inference | This article's reading of references 2 and 6 to 8 |
Last updated 26 September 2026 / Troy Technical
All statements come from AIM Photonics' website, the U.S. Department of Defense announcement and the Manufacturing USA website. Items marked "Inference" are this article's reading of the primary information, not statements by AIM Photonics.