MENU

ASE Group | Company Profile

Back to Technology & Company Guides

COMPANY PROFILE / SEMICONDUCTOR BACK-END

ASE Group
The company that became number one in the back end, and what it actually turned out to be

ASE is the world's largest OSAT, a contractor that specialises in semiconductor back-end work, meaning assembly and test. Yet four tenths of its revenue comes not from the back end at all but from contract electronics manufacturing (EMS) for smartphones and automotive equipment. This profile checks what "the world's largest back-end company" really does, and how much of it, using only figures from the statutory filings the company has made with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Sources: the SEC filings of ASE Technology Holding (FY2025 Form 20-F and the second-quarter 2026 earnings release), used as primary material. Last updated September 2026.

What this article covers
  1. ASE Group in 30 seconds
  2. The logo and how the name is written
  3. What the company actually does: OSAT versus foundry
  4. Scale: five years of revenue
  5. Company category and position in the back-end industry
  6. Sites and the countries where it manufactures
  7. Leading products and share in semiconductor back-end work
  8. Current investment plans
  9. Major corporate partners
  10. Where the company is heading in this field
  11. The risks this company carries
  12. Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit

1. ASE Group in 30 seconds

LEGAL NAMEASE Technology Holding Co., Ltd.Known in English simply as ASE, or ASE Group; the holding company is abbreviated ASEH
HEADQUARTERSTaiwanKaohsiung (26, Chin 3rd Rd., Nanzih Dist., Kaohsiung 811)
FOUNDED30 April 2018The date the holding company was created. The operating company ASE Inc. dates from 23 March 1984
LISTINGSTaiwan Stock Exchange 3711
New York Stock Exchange ASX
Traded in the U.S. as ADRs, one ADS representing two ordinary shares
2025 REVENUENT$645.4bn
(US$20.6bn)
Up 8.4% year on year
EMPLOYEES105,947As of 31 December 2025. By the end of June 2026 the figure was 114,179
CATEGORYManufacturer
(OSAT plus EMS)
Runs contract back-end work and contract electronics manufacturing side by side
2025 CAPEXNT$171.6bn
(US$5.47bn)
1.8 times the prior year. The 2026 plan is not disclosed
The one thing to grasp first

ASE's revenue splits three ways: packaging 47.8%, test 11.1% and EMS 39.8% Our calculation. Back-end work, that is packaging plus test, is about 59% of revenue. The remaining four tenths is EMS, the business of building smartphone modules and automotive units, which is a different industry from semiconductor packaging. The label "world's largest OSAT" makes the whole company sound like a back-end business, but what it really is, is a back-end company and a contract electronics manufacturer fused together. This article keeps the two apart throughout.

2. The logo and how the name is written

The ASE logo is a registered trademark of the company. Nothing here is redrawn or generated; where the mark is shown it is the official file taken from the company's own website. An AI-drawn approximation of a logo is wrong both as trademark use and as fact.

A note on style: in English the company is ASE or ASE Group, and the holding company is abbreviated ASEH. The cover of its statutory filings carries the company's Chinese-language legal name, with ASE Technology Holding Co., Ltd. presented as the English translation of it Sourced. Coverage in other languages sometimes transliterates the Chinese name instead, but the company's own English-language disclosure uses ASE throughout.

Official site: https://www.aseglobal.com

3. What the company actually does: OSAT versus foundry

Making a semiconductor divides broadly into a first half and a second half.

StageWhat happensWhat is handledWho does it
Front end
(wafer fabrication)
Transistors and wiring are built onto a silicon discWafers, discs 300mm acrossFoundries (TSMC, UMC) and IDMs (Intel, Samsung)
Back end
(assembly and test)
The wafer is diced, the die is mounted on a substrate, wired, sealed in resin and tested electricallyIndividual dies and finished packagesOSATs (ASE, Amkor, SPIL) and the in-house plants of IDMs

ASE takes on only the second half. It does not make wafers. It receives finished wafers from the customer, or from the foundry that built them on the customer's behalf, and handles everything downstream. That is what an OSAT is: Outsourced Semiconductor Assembly and Test, a firm that does contract back-end work and nothing else.

How this differs from TSMC

This is where readers most often get lost. TSMC does back-end work too, in the form of CoWoS and the rest, so why is an OSAT like ASE needed at all? Three things can be said with confidence from primary material.

  1. The two are partners to begin with. In its Form 20-F, ASE states that it "has maintained a strategic alliance with TSMC since 1997" and that TSMC has designated ASE as a non-exclusive preferred packaging and testing supplier for semiconductors TSMC manufactures Sourced. This is a division of labour between front end and back end rather than a rivalry.
  2. The range of parts is different. TSMC's back end concentrates on leading-edge AI packages such as CoWoS. ASE, by contrast, held 25,001 wire bonders and 7,456 testers as of 2025 and serves the whole field: communications, computing, consumer, industrial and automotive Sourced. That tens of thousands of wire bonders, the classic method of joining one metal wire at a time, are still its mainstay equipment is the decisive difference from a foundry's back end.
  3. By revenue the OSAT is the smaller of the two. ASE's back-end revenue, what it calls ATM, was NT$380.2bn. The envelope of TSMC's non-wafer revenue was NT$536.5bn, which is larger Our calculation. Even "the world's number one in the back end" does not reach TSMC's non-wafer revenue.
A materials engineer's view: the OSAT is the one choosing the materials

In a foundry's back end the package structure and its materials are designed together with the front end, so the choice of material is settled on the foundry's side. An OSAT is in a different position: it assembles substrate, mould compound, underfill and wire to suit each customer's specification. It is telling that ASE writes in its Form 20-F that part of its research spending goes into developing IC substrates, the principal raw material of a BGA package, and that it works closely with leading substrate suppliers in Japan, Taiwan, South Korea and China Sourced. ASE also makes substrates itself, at its ASE Electronics subsidiary in Kaohsiung, which means that for a materials maker it is a customer and a potential competitor at the same time.

4. Scale: five years of revenue

ASE Group annual revenue (NT$ billion) Figures in brackets are the company's own US dollar translations; the rate differs by year 800 600 400 200 0 570 (US$20.5B) 671 (US$21.8B) 582 (US$19.0B) 595 (US$18.2B) 645 (US$20.6B) 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 The 2022 peak has still not been passed; in Taiwan dollars revenue has been flat for four years
Fig. 1 ASE Group annual revenue, 2021 to 2025. Source: the Form 20-F for each year. Where TSMC grew 2.4 times over the same period, ASE's revenue peaked in 2022, fell back, and in 2025 was still below that peak.
YearRevenue (NT$m)Revenue (US$m)Operating income (NT$m)R&D expense (NT$m)Purchases of property, plant and equipment (NT$m)
2021569,99720,54863,31421,05470,906
2022670,87321,83181,19024,37072,640
2023581,91419,00441,64925,49954,158
2024595,41018,15840,33928,83079,522
2025645,38820,57351,42132,851164,643

The last column is "purchases of property, plant and equipment" from the cash flow statement. The capital expenditure table in the Form 20-F, which is on an accrual basis, gives NT$48,759m for 2023, NT$96,208m for 2024 and NT$171,617m for 2025, the last of these shown alongside US$5,470.7m. The most important number in this table is that capital expenditure more than doubled in a single year.

What the 105,947 employees are doing

The breakdown by job type makes it plain that this is a labour-intensive manufacturer Sourced.

Category202320242025
Direct labour (production lines)45,82646,82952,173
Indirect labour (manufacturing)29,93327,59630,874
Indirect labour (sales and administration)8,0108,3528,642
Indirect labour (research and development)12,12512,71514,258
Total92,89495,492105,947

Direct labour is 49.2% of the total Our calculation. That is a completely different shape of workforce from TSMC, where roughly six in ten employees are managers or professionals. Back-end work runs through many process steps and the set-up changes with every part number, so a great deal of it still depends on people. Headcount then reached 114,179 by the end of June 2026, a gain of 8,232 in six months Sourced. That is the most direct evidence there is that the capacity build-out is happening now.

5. Company category and position in the back-end industry

The category is manufacturer. But two businesses of quite different character live inside the one company.

Breakdown of 2025 revenue of NT$645.4bn by segment The two blue bars on the left are the back end; the green is EMS, a separate business Packaging 47.8% Test EMS 39.8% 11.1% Other 1.2% ATM (back end) NT$380.2bn = 58.9% EMS NT$257.2bn The world's largest OSAT tag refers only to ATM, the left-hand side EMS is contract manufacturing of phone modules, automotive units and server parts, and handles no wafers
Fig. 2 Breakdown of 2025 revenue by segment. Source: note 41, segment information, in the FY2025 Form 20-F. Revenue to external customers taken straight through into percentages Our calculation. ATM stands for Assembly, Testing and Materials, the company's own umbrella term for its back-end business.
How to read that number

When ASE is introduced as "the world's largest OSAT", the figure being compared is ATM revenue of NT$380.2bn, or US$12.1bn, not the company-wide NT$645.4bn. Drop that distinction and every comparison with Amkor or SPIL later in this series goes wrong. In the second quarter of 2026, incidentally, ATM revenue jumped 36.3% year on year, and the quarterly mix shifted towards the back end at packaging 52%, test 13% and EMS 34% Sourced. The wave of AI demand has begun to reach the OSATs, a year or two behind TSMC.

6. Sites and the countries where it manufactures

ASE has manufacturing sites in 17 countries. Most of them, however, belong to the EMS side; the semiconductor back-end plants are concentrated in Taiwan, China, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and the United States Sourced.

Country or regionMain back-end sitesRoleEmployees (end 2025)
TaiwanKaohsiung (ASE Inc., ASE Test Taiwan, ASE Electronics), Zhongli, and Taichung, Changhua, Yunlin and Hsinchu (SPIL)The core. Kaohsiung leads on flip chip, wafer bumping and fine-pitch wire bonding; SPIL, centred on Taichung, is the second pillar. Floor space is 10,795 thousand sq. ft. at Kaohsiung and 11,429 thousand sq. ft. at SPIL67,870
ChinaShanghai (ASE Shanghai), Suzhou (SPILSZ and Asteelflash), Wuxi, Kunshan, HuizhouASE Shanghai designs and produces packaging materials; SPILSZ does assembly and test. Some mainland sites were sold in 202119,020
South KoreaPaju (ASE Korea), Cheonan (CHE, acquired August 2024)Specialised in radio frequency, sensor and automotive devices3,053
Malaysia and SingaporePenang, SingaporeAssembly and test for IDMs, the semiconductor firms that both design and manufacture in house3,816
JapanTakahata, Yamagata Prefecture (ASE Japan)Mobile handset, consumer and automotive work. Small, at 108 thousand sq. ft. of floor space481
United StatesCalifornia (ISE Labs)Front-end engineering test and final test, deliberately sited close to the fabless design houses715
Philippines and VietnamCavite (acquired August 2024), HaiphongCavite does assembly and test; Haiphong does IC mounting for wearables3,123

Headcount comes from the country table in the Form 20-F. Malaysia 2,880 plus Singapore 936, and the Philippines 818 plus Vietnam 2,305, have each been combined Our calculation. The sites in Poland, France, Germany, Tunisia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, the United Kingdom, Belgium and Mexico, which are left out of the table, all belong to the EMS side.

The 67,870 employees in Taiwan are 64.1% of the total Our calculation. That is not TSMC's 86%, but it is still a concentration in Taiwan. Counting EMS as well, though, ASE manufactures in 17 countries, which is a far wider geographic net than TSMC casts.

7. Leading products and share in semiconductor back-end work

The product family: from wire bonding to 2.5D and 3D

ASE's back-end services run the whole way from the classic methods to the leading edge. These are the main ones the Form 20-F lists Sourced.

Wire bonding
The classic method: the pads on the die are joined to the lead frame one gold or copper wire at a time. ASE holds 25,001 wire bonders.
Flip chip
The die is turned over and joined straight to the substrate through solder bumps, which allows far more connections than wire.
FOCoS
Fan-out Chip-on-Substrate. Redistribution layers link the dies, which are then mounted on a high pin-count BGA substrate. Aimed at HPC and AI work that pairs an ASIC with HBM. Pin counts of 3,000 to 7,000.
FOCoS-Bridge
FOCoS with a tiny silicon bridge embedded in it to link chiplets. Pin counts of 3,000 to 14,000.
2.5D and 3D IC
Several dies placed side by side on a silicon interposer (2.5D) or stacked on top of each other (3D). The same ground TSMC's CoWoS occupies.
CPO
Co-Packaged Optics, placing optical devices inside the same package. ASE states in its Form 20-F that it has the capability.

The mix by application: AI is starting to tell

Back-end revenue by application, packaging and test combined Upper bar 2023, lower bar 2025. Only computing has risen, by nearly six points Communications 2023: 50.8% 2025: 45.8% Computing 2023: 18.1% 2025: 24.0% Consumer/industrial/auto 2023: 31.1% 2025: 30.2% AI-related ASIC and HBM assembly falls under computing. ASE does not disclose an AI figure on its own
Fig. 3 Back-end revenue by application, 2023 against 2025. Source: FY2025 Form 20-F. Computing, which is where AI work sits, rose from 18.1% to 24.0%, while communications, chiefly smartphones, fell five points.

On market share, plainly

What could not be confirmed

ASE puts no figure for its world market share in its statutory filings. Numbers of the form "X per cent of the OSAT market" or "Y thousand advanced packages a month" are estimates from research firms or the press, not primary material, and this article does not use them Not yet confirmed. Nor is revenue broken out by method, between wire bonding, flip chip, FOCoS and the rest. Three things can be said from primary sources.

  1. Annual back-end (ATM) revenue is NT$380.2bn, or US$12.1bn. That is the figure to compare against other OSATs Our calculation
  2. The equipment count is published: 25,001 wire bonders and 7,456 testers, as of 31 January 2026 Sourced
  3. The application mix is published: communications 45.8%, computing 24.0%, consumer, industrial and automotive 30.2%, for 2025 Sourced

Where the customers are concentrated

Measure202320242025
Top five customers as a share of revenue, company-wide48.0%48.4%46.5%
Customers accounting for more than 10%111
Top ten customers as a share of accounts receivablenot disclosed47%50%
Customers headquartered in the United States63.6%60.2%56.7%

ASE does not name its customers. Set against TSMC's 78% for the top ten, ASE's customer base is considerably more scattered, which is what you would expect of an OSAT carrying a large volume of low-volume, high-mix work.

8. Current investment plans

2025 CAPEX, ACTUALNT$171.6bn
(US$5.47bn)
1.8 times the NT$96.2bn of 2024
OF WHICH BACK ENDNT$165.0bnPackaging NT$113.4bn plus test NT$51.6bn, or 96.2% of the total
CAPEX COMMITTED, NOT YET SPENTNT$135.2bn
(US$4.31bn)
As of the end of 2025, of which NT$20.6bn had been paid
2026 CAPEX PLANNo figure disclosedDescribed only as "mainly further purchases of machinery to add capacity"

ASE gives no number for its 2026 capital expenditure. All the Form 20-F says is that 2026 capital expenditure will be funded from cash on hand, operating cash flow and existing credit lines, and that it will consist mainly of additional purchases of machinery and equipment to expand capacity Sourced. The 2026 investment figure is therefore treated here as undetermined Not yet confirmed.

Quarterly actuals are disclosed, however, and in the second quarter of 2026 alone capital expenditure was US$1,695m, of which US$840m went to packaging, US$804m to test and US$49m to EMS Sourced. If quarters continue at that level, the year will finish well above 2025.

The financing side

On 3 August 2026 ASE announced the pricing of US$1bn of currency-linked zero coupon convertible bonds due 2031 Sourced. By the company's own account the proceeds go to repaying existing borrowings, by way of capital injections into subsidiaries, and to purchasing foreign-currency-denominated materials. They are not designated for capital expenditure as such, but the move does show the balance sheet being arranged around a period of sharply rising investment.

A materials engineer's view: the capex is tilting towards buildings

The NT$171.6bn of 2025 capital expenditure breaks down into NT$106.0bn of machinery, NT$65.0bn of buildings and NT$0.6bn of land Sourced. Against the prior year, when machinery was NT$60.3bn and buildings NT$32.0bn, the building line has doubled. Equipment alone can be squeezed into existing plants; putting up buildings means the cleanroom floor area itself is being enlarged. A new back-end building needs a controlled environment, not to front-end standards but controlled all the same, and demand for the substrates, resins and chemicals that go into it starts a little later than the tool deliveries. Seen from the materials side, the 2025 building spend reads as a leading indicator of materials demand in 2026 and 2027 Not yet confirmed.

9. Major corporate partners

KindCounterpartySubstancePrimary source
Strategic allianceTSMCAn alliance running since 1997. TSMC designates ASE as a non-exclusive preferred packaging and testing supplier for semiconductors TSMC manufactures. ASE lists this in its Form 20-F as one of its strengthsStated in the Form 20-F Sourced
Wholly owned subsidiarySPILTaken to 100% through the share exchange of 30 April 2018. The second pillar of the back-end business, covered in its own instalment of this seriesStated in the Form 20-F Sourced
Consolidated subsidiaryThe USI groupThe core of the EMS business. ASE holds 100% of USI Inc. and 71.6% of USI Shanghai, listed in Shanghai as 601231, as of 31 January 2026Stated in the Form 20-F Sourced
Equipment suppliersTeradyne, Tokyo Electron, AdvantestNamed by ASE as its principal sources of testers. Test is the most capital-intensive step in the back endStated in the Form 20-F Sourced
Materials collaborationLeading substrate suppliers in Japan, Taiwan, South Korea and ChinaDescribed as collaboration to raise IC substrate capacity. No individual company is namedIn the Form 20-F, but without names Not yet confirmed
A caution: the customer names cannot be confirmed from primary sources

NVIDIA, AMD, Qualcomm and Broadcom are all spoken of as ASE customers, but no customer is named anywhere in ASE's statutory filings. What the Form 20-F gives is ratios: the top five customers at 46.5% of revenue, and one customer above 10%. That is the opposite of TSMC, which named five customers outright in its March 2025 release, and this article therefore identifies no customer by name Not yet confirmed.

10. Where the company is heading in this field

What is established

FactWhat it implies for the back end
ATM revenue in the second quarter of 2026 was up 36.3% year on yearThe AI wave has reached the OSATs. The company's own numbers say the stagnation of 2023 and 2024 is over
2025 capital expenditure rose 1.8 times to NT$171.6bn, 96.2% of it for the back endThe company has swung its resources decisively to the back-end side
NT$135.2bn of committed capital expenditure is still unspentHigh investment through 2026 is the likely outcome
Headcount grew by 8,232 in six months, to 114,179 at the end of June 2026People are being added as well as tools, which is what happens when the capacity is meant to run
The TSMC alliance has held since 1997Even as foundries bring back-end work in house, ASE has not been cut out of the supply chain
Computing rose from 18.1% to 24.0% of back-end revenueThe shift away from dependence on smartphones is under way

Outlook

Not yet confirmed Read plainly, the facts above point towards ASE's presence in the back end strengthening for now. The reason is simple: as long as demand for AI accelerators keeps outrunning the supply of leading-edge packaging, whatever TSMC cannot handle itself flows to the OSATs. ASE has the vessels to catch it, in FOCoS, FOCoS-Bridge and 2.5D, and the alliance running since 1997 gives that hand-off an institutional footing.

Not yet confirmed It is hard to imagine ASE taking TSMC's place, though. An OSAT with no leading-edge logic wafers of its own cannot tune yield jointly with the front end. The reading most consistent with the primary material is that ASE's role is not "an alternative to TSMC" but "the catcher for what TSMC leaves behind, and for the generations TSMC no longer builds". Note too that the EMS business, four tenths of revenue, follows a cycle of its own that is not the semiconductor cycle, so company-wide results do not simply reflect back-end performance. Anyone using this company as a back-end indicator has to look at the ATM numbers.

11. The risks this company carries

RiskSubstanceSupporting figures
Price competitionThe company itself writes that many of its customers source from more than one supplier and that aggressive pricing by competitors may keep raising the level of competition. It also points to Chinese government support for domestic OSATsRisk factors in the Form 20-F
Thin EMS marginsEMS is four tenths of revenue, but its gross margin in the second quarter of 2026 was 8.9%. ATM in the same quarter was 27.3%, three times as wideSecond-quarter 2026 earnings release
Recovering the capex2025 capital expenditure was 26.6% of revenue, and NT$135.2bn of commitments remain. If demand falls short, fixed costs biteCapex divided by revenue equals 26.6% Our calculation
CyclicalityRevenue fell 13.3% in 2023. Growth in 2024 was only 2.3%, and 2025 has still not restored the 2022 levelNT$670.9bn in 2022 against NT$581.9bn in 2023 Our calculation
GeopoliticsThe company lists cross-strait tension among its risk factors. 64.1% of employees, and most of the floor space of its main plants, are in Taiwan67,870 in Taiwan out of 105,947 Our calculation
LitigationCriminal insider dealing proceedings connected with the 2015 and 2016 tender offer for SPIL are still live. On 11 February 2026 the Kaohsiung District Court acquitted one officer, and prosecutors appealed on 2 MarchStated in the Form 20-F. The outcome is undetermined

12. Glossary

OSAT
Outsourced Semiconductor Assembly and Test. A company that takes on semiconductor back-end work, meaning assembly and test, on contract and does nothing else. ASE, Amkor and SPIL are examples.
ATM
Assembly, Testing and Materials. ASE's own umbrella term for its back-end business, packaging plus test plus materials.
EMS
Electronics Manufacturing Services. Contract board assembly and equipment build. Different processes and different customers from the semiconductor back end.
Wire bonding
Joining the pads on a die to the external terminals with fine metal wire. The oldest method in the back end and still the leader by unit volume.
IC substrate
The small multilayer board that carries the die and routes it out to the external terminals. The principal raw material of a BGA package, and prone to shortage.
Tester
The equipment that checks the electrical characteristics of a finished package. The most capital-intensive item in the back end, and expensive per unit.
ADS and ADR
American Depositary Share and Receipt, instruments that let a foreign company's shares trade in the United States. ASE is listed on the NYSE with one ADS representing two ordinary shares.
Form 20-F
The annual report a foreign company listed in the United States files with the SEC. It is audited and carries legal liability for its contents.
Concept diagram showing the OSAT line that takes in wafers and turns them into packages, alongside the separate contract manufacturing line (AI-generated concept image)AI-generated concept
Fig. 4 Concept diagram of ASE Group's business structure. This is an AI-generated concept image and does not depict actual plant layouts or equipment.

13. References

  1. ASE Technology Holding Form 20-F for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 (filed with the U.S. SEC on 1 April 2026). Legal name, head office address and listing venues, revenue by segment, headcount by job type and by country, the plant list and floor space, capital expenditure, R&D expense, customer concentration, revenue by application and by region, wire bonder and tester counts, the TSMC alliance, the holdings in SPIL and USI, risk factors and litigation. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
  2. ASE Technology Holding Second quarter 2026 earnings release (Form 6-K, 30 July 2026). Second-quarter revenue, segment mix and gross margins, capital expenditure of US$1,695m, headcount of 114,179 and customer concentration. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000095010326011351/dp250868_6k.htm
  3. ASE Technology Holding Announcement of the pricing of US$1bn of convertible bonds (Form 6-K, 3 August 2026). Currency-linked zero coupon convertible bonds due 2031 and the use of proceeds. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526330709/d77314d6k.htm
  4. U.S. SEC EDGAR XBRL company facts API (CIK 0001122411). Revenue, operating income, R&D expense and purchases of property, plant and equipment for 2021 to 2025, as tagged in each year's Form 20-F. https://data.sec.gov/api/xbrl/companyfacts/CIK0001122411.json
  5. TSMC Form 20-F for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 (filed with the U.S. SEC). The TSMC revenue figures used for the scale comparisons in sections 3 and 5. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1046179/000162828026025362/tsm-20251231.htm
  6. ASE Technology Holding Official website, used to check the corporate profile and the brand mark. https://www.aseglobal.com

14. Claim-to-source audit

Claim in the articleCategorySource
Legal name, head office address, listing venues (TWSE 3711 and NYSE ASX), holding company incorporated 30 April 2018SourcedReference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
Revenue, operating income, R&D expense and purchases of property, plant and equipment, 2021 to 2025SourcedReference 4 https://data.sec.gov/api/xbrl/companyfacts/CIK0001122411.json
2025 revenue by segment (packaging 47.8%, test 11.1%, EMS 39.8%, other 1.2%) and ATM of NT$380.2bnOur calculationPercentages derived from revenue to external customers in note 41 of reference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
105,947 employees at end 2025, the splits by job type and country, direct labour at 49.2%, Taiwan at 64.1%Sourced plus our calculationThe employee tables of reference 1; the percentages are ours https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
114,179 employees at end June 2026, second-quarter revenue up 26.7%, ATM up 36.3%, segment mix 52/13/34/1%, ATM gross margin 27.3% against EMS 8.9%, capital expenditure of US$1,695mSourcedReference 2 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000095010326011351/dp250868_6k.htm
Plant locations and floor space (Kaohsiung 10,795 thousand sq. ft., SPIL 11,429 thousand sq. ft. and the rest), manufacturing in 17 countriesSourcedThe plant list in reference 1, as of 31 January 2026 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
25,001 wire bonders and 7,456 testers as of 31 January 2026, and the three named tester suppliersSourcedReference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
The TSMC alliance since 1997 and the non-exclusive preferred supplier designationSourcedReference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
Application mix (communications 45.8%, computing 24.0%, consumer, industrial and automotive 30.2%), region (United States 56.7%) and top five customers at 46.5%SourcedReference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
2025 capital expenditure of NT$171.6bn (machinery NT$106.0bn, buildings NT$65.0bn, land NT$0.6bn), commitments of NT$135.2bn, back end at 96.2%Sourced plus our calculationThe capital expenditure table and segment spending in reference 1; the 96.2% is ours https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
Pricing of US$1bn of convertible bonds due 2031SourcedReference 3 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526330709/d77314d6k.htm
100% of SPIL, 100% of USI Inc. and 71.6% of USI ShanghaiSourcedReference 1, as of 31 January 2026 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
ASE's ATM revenue of NT$380.2bn is smaller than TSMC's non-wafer envelope of NT$536.5bnOur calculationDerived by setting the figures in references 1 and 5 against each other https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1046179/000162828026025362/tsm-20251231.htm
Risk factors (price competition, Chinese government support, cross-strait relations) and the live SPIL tender offer litigationSourcedReference 1 https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
ASE's world market share, advanced packaging capacity and revenue split by methodNot yet confirmedNo primary source exists, so this article states no figure https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
The 2026 capital expenditure planNot yet confirmedNot disclosed. The Form 20-F gives only the funding method and the character of the spending https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
Customer names and the names of individual substrate suppliersNot yet confirmedAbsent from ASE's own primary material, so this article identifies none of them https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm
The outlook in section 10, and the reading of building investment as a leading indicator of materials demandNot yet confirmedAn interpretation by this article, drawn from the six items in the facts table https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1122411/000119312526135585/d50802d20f.htm

Last updated 21 September 2026 / Troy Technical
Every figure in this article comes from the statutory filings ASE Technology Holding has made with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, or from the company's own announcements. No research-firm estimates or press-based figures have been used.

🌐 Japanese