MENU

NEDO (New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization) | Institution Profile | Solid-State Batteries

Back to Technology, Institution & Company Guides

INSTITUTION PROFILE / SOLID-STATE BATTERIES

NEDO
The agency that hands out Japan's solid-state battery research money

NEDO is a national research and development agency overseen by Japan's Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. It does not build batteries. Its job is to distribute the government's R&D budget to companies and research organisations, then keep track of how the work is going. If NEDO keeps turning up in our profiles of Toyota, Honda and Nissan, it is because part of each company's solid-state battery development is being carried out as a NEDO project. This profile looks at one question only: how much influence NEDO actually has over solid-state batteries.

Sources: NEDO's organisational overview and project pages, the Green Innovation Fund website, NEDO press releases, and the business strategy documents that funded companies file with NEDO. Last updated September 2026.

What this article covers
  1. NEDO in 30 seconds
  2. What kind of body it is: the four types of influence
  3. What it does for solid-state batteries
  4. How far its influence reaches (powers and geography)
  5. Where the money goes
  6. Outlook
  7. Glossary, references and claim-to-source audit

1. NEDO in 30 seconds

FULL NAMENew Energy and Industrial Technology Development OrganizationA national research and development agency
COUNTRYJapanHeadquarters in Kawasaki, Kanagawa
TYPE OF BODYNational R&D agencySupervised by the Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry. Not a government ministry
ESTABLISHEDOctober 2003Its predecessor, a special public corporation, dates from October 1980
STAFF1,640As of 1 April 2026
BUDGET (EXCLUDING FUNDS)¥505.2 billionAs of April 2026
FUND BUDGETS¥11.37 trillionTotal across eight funds, as of April 2026
ROLE IN SOLID-STATE BATTERIESAllocating R&D moneyNo power to set regulations or standards
The one thing to grasp first

NEDO is not the body that decides what gets researched. It carries out a plan that has already been decided. For the project covering next-generation batteries, including solid-state batteries, NEDO's own press release says it ran the call for proposals "based on the R&D and social implementation plan formulated by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry" Sourced. The ministry sets the direction; NEDO runs the calls, selects the projects, monitors progress and evaluates the results. It still matters a great deal, because a large share of Japan's solid-state battery research money reaches companies through NEDO.

2. What kind of body it is: the four types of influence

Unlike the companies in this series, none of the institutions that appear in solid-state battery coverage makes batteries. What separates them is the route by which they influence the industry, and that gives four types.

Four types of institution that shape solid-state batteries Institutions do not make batteries. They differ in the route by which they influence the industry Funding Policy & regulation Standards Convening Allocates R&D budgets Strategy, subsidies, law Test methods, safety Trade shows, associations NEDO / DOE METI / DOE IEC InterBattery What gets researched What gets built at home How things are measured Who meets whom Reach: own budget Reach: own territory Reach: member countries Reach: participants NEDO is the funding type on the left. METI decides what to build; NEDO carries out that plan The same technology is shaped very differently depending on which type of body is involved
Fig. 1 Four types of institution involved in solid-state batteries, and where NEDO sits. The classification is our own, and the examples are the five institutions covered in this series Our calculation. The U.S. Department of Energy appears under two types because it controls both research funding and policy.

3. What it does for solid-state batteries

NEDO's involvement in solid-state batteries runs along two lines Sourced.

ProgrammePeriod and budgetWhat it coversWho does the work
Advanced and Innovative Battery Materials Evaluation Technology Development (Phase 2)
known as SOLiD-EV
FY2018 to FY2022
FY2022 budget ¥2.149 billion
Component technologies to clear the bottlenecks in all-solid-state lithium-ion batteries, plus methods for evaluating how new materials, mass-production processes and vehicle integration perform. It also developed safety and durability test methods with Japan-led international standardisation in mindLed by LIBTEC (the Technology Research Association of Lithium-Ion Battery Materials Evaluation), with vehicle, battery and materials makers, universities and public research bodies
Evaluation and Fundamental Technology Development of Next-Generation All-Solid-State Battery Materials
known as SOLiD-Next
FY2023 to FY2027
FY2026 budget ¥1.85 billion
(1) A standard cell model that acts as a yardstick for evaluating materials; (2) explaining phenomena specific to solid-state batteries, such as solid-solid interfaces and degradation; (3) electrode and cell component technologyLed by LIBTEC
Green Innovation Fund project
"Development of Next-Generation Storage Batteries and Next-Generation Motors"
Launched April 2022
Budget capped at ¥151 billion
High-capacity batteries with at least twice today's energy density (700 to 800 Wh/L or more), with solid-state batteries given as an example, and their materials. Battery recycling and motors are also in scope18 themes selected. Solid-state related awardees are listed in section 5
A materials engineer's view: two very different kinds of programme

SOLiD-EV and SOLiD-Next build shared foundations for the whole industry. The "standard cell model" in particular is a yardstick for comparing performance under identical conditions when a materials supplier develops a new solid electrolyte or cathode material. It is not any one company's product development. The Green Innovation Fund, by contrast, pays for individual companies' own development work, and that is the route through which Honda and Nissan are developing their solid-state batteries. For a materials supplier, the first is the arena in which your material gets judged; the second is the development budget of the customers who might adopt it.

4. How far its influence reaches (powers and geography)

AspectWhat NEDO hasWhat it does not have
PowersThe power to run calls for R&D funding, select projects, monitor progress and evaluate results. It reviews awardees' research plans and requires them to submit business strategy documentsPower to set regulations, safety requirements or international standards. Power to decide the broad direction of research, which follows the ministry's plan
GeographyProgrammes funded from the Japanese budget. Awardees are mainly Japanese companies and research bodiesAny direct authority over foreign companies or other countries' policies
Time horizonThe Green Innovation Fund is designed to support projects continuously for up to ten yearsPower to require anyone to start mass production or bring a product to market
Scale1,640 staff. A budget of ¥505.2 billion plus ¥11.37 trillion in funds (all fields combined)The total available for solid-state batteries alone has not been published
A note on reading the numbers

The fund total of more than ¥11 trillion covers every field NEDO handles, and most of it is for semiconductors and post-5G communications (post-5G ¥3.59 trillion, Green Innovation ¥2.76 trillion, specified semiconductors ¥2.17 trillion, among others) Sourced. What bears on solid-state batteries is a single Green Innovation Fund project, capped at ¥151 billion, plus individual programmes such as SOLiD-Next. That ¥151 billion also covers battery recycling and motors, so the amount spent on solid-state batteries alone is smaller, and the total has not been published Not yet confirmed.

5. Where the money goes

How Japan's solid-state battery research money flows METI sets the plan and creates the fund; NEDO runs calls, selection and progress reviews METI Sets R&D plan, creates the fund NEDO Calls, selection, oversight Green Innovation Fund Next-gen batteries and motors: ¥151bn cap SOLiD-Next (led by LIBTEC) FY2023-2027; FY2026 budget ¥1.85bn Selected awardees (solid-state related) Honda / Honda R&D / Nissan Motor GS Yuasa / Panasonic Energy Idemitsu Kosan / Sumitomo Metal Mining ULVAC / Osaka Soda What it does A yardstick for materials (standard cell model) How solid-solid interfaces and degradation work Electrode and cell component technology
Fig. 2 How solid-state battery research money flows. Sources: NEDO press release (19 April 2022), the Green Innovation Fund website and the SOLiD-Next project page. The awardees shown are those in the fund's "high-performance batteries and materials" category whose theme titles show a link to solid-state batteries; the selection is ours Our calculation.

Green Innovation Fund themes with a solid-state battery link

AwardeeTheme title (NEDO's wording, translated)Link to this series
Honda Motor and Honda R&DDevelopment of next-generation all-solid-state batteriesSee our Honda profile. Honda's own materials put this grant at about ¥20 billion (FY2022 to FY2026)
Nissan MotorEstablishing a production process for high-performance, low-LCA batteries on an all-solid-state battery pilot lineSee our Nissan profile. Nissan's business strategy document gives a total project cost of about ¥15.3 billion, of which about ¥11.4 billion is government money
GS YuasaDevelopment of advanced solid-state batteriesNot covered in this series
Panasonic EnergyDevelopment of next-generation batteriesSee our Panasonic profile. The theme title does not mention solid-state batteries
Idemitsu KosanMass-production technology for sulfide solid electrolytesToyota's solid electrolyte partner (see our Toyota profile)
Sumitomo Metal MiningDevelopment and demonstration of high-performance cathode materials for next-generation batteriesToyota's cathode materials partner (see our Toyota profile)
ULVACProduction technology for lithium-metal anodes for next-generation batteriesNot covered in this series
Osaka SodaDevelopment of ultra-high ionic conductivity polymers for all-solid-state batteriesNot covered in this series

NEDO's project page does not show how much each awardee receives. The Honda and Nissan figures come from documents those companies published or filed. Toyota Motor does not appear among this project's awardees, although its partners Idemitsu Kosan and Sumitomo Metal Mining do Sourced.

6. Outlook

What the evidence suggestsPrimary information it rests onCategory
NEDO's influence reaches a natural break around the mass-production decisions of 2027 and 2028SOLiD-Next runs to FY2027. Honda's NEDO grant covers FY2022 to FY2026, and Nissan's strategy document targets market launch in FY2028Inference
Support for the mass-production stage will shift from NEDO's R&D programmes to the ministry's capital-investment supportNEDO's programmes cover R&D and demonstration and carry no power to require mass production. Support for production equipment falls under the ministryInference
If the standard cell model is taken up by the industry, it will outlast the programme as the arena in which materials suppliers are judgedSOLiD-Next sets out to build a yardstick, and its predecessor SOLiD-EV developed test methods with international standardisation in mindInference

7. Glossary

National R&D agency
A public body that carries out national research and development under the supervision of a minister. It is not itself a ministry.
Green Innovation Fund
A fund of ¥2 trillion (at launch) that the ministry set up at NEDO. It supports company projects from R&D through to deployment for up to ten years.
LIBTEC
The Technology Research Association of Lithium-Ion Battery Materials Evaluation, a joint body in which battery and materials makers develop materials evaluation techniques together.
Standard cell model
A reference cell specification used to compare new materials under identical conditions.
Business strategy document
A document in which each Green Innovation Fund awardee sets out its strategy and R&D plan as a commitment from top management. NEDO publishes them online.
Conceptual illustration of public research funding connecting laboratories and companies developing solid-state batteriesAI-generated conceptual illustration
Figure 3 — Conceptual illustration of NEDO acting as an implementation agency that connects public funding with research, materials evaluation and pilot manufacturing. This is an AI-generated conceptual illustration, not a photograph or an exact representation of any facility, equipment or product.

8. References

  1. NEDO Organisational overview (in Japanese): name, headquarters, establishment, history, supervising minister, governing law, staff numbers, budget and the breakdown of fund budgets. Updated 15 April 2026. https://www.nedo.go.jp/introducing/kihon.html
  2. NEDO Project page for SOLiD-Next (in Japanese): project period, FY2026 budget, R&D content and project code P23005. https://www.nedo.go.jp/activities/ZZJP_100257.html
  3. NEDO Project page for SOLiD-EV (in Japanese): project period, FY2022 budget, project leader and test methods developed with international standardisation in mind. https://www.nedo.go.jp/activities/ZZJP_100146.html
  4. NEDO Press release on the launch of the Green Innovation Fund project for next-generation batteries and motors (in Japanese, 19 April 2022): total budget of ¥151 billion, 18 themes selected, the call run on the basis of the ministry's plan, and the ministry's creation of a ¥2 trillion fund with up to ten years of support. https://www.nedo.go.jp/news/press/AA5_101535.html
  5. NEDO Green Innovation Fund website, "Development of Next-Generation Storage Batteries and Next-Generation Motors" (in Japanese): budget cap, project features and the list of implementers by R&D category. https://green-innovation.nedo.go.jp/project/next-generation-storage-batteries-motors/scheme/
  6. Honda Motor Investor briefing on its all-solid-state battery pilot line (in Japanese): NEDO grant of about ¥20 billion, FY2022 to FY2026. https://global.honda/jp/investors/library/road_show/main/00/teaserItems3/01/linkList/03/link/FYE202503_Honda_Demonstration_Production_Line_for_All-Solid-State_Batteries_j.pdf
  7. Nissan Motor (published by NEDO) Green Innovation Fund business strategy document, as of May 2026 (in Japanese): total project cost of about ¥15.3 billion, about ¥11.4 billion of it government money, and market launch in FY2028. https://green-innovation.nedo.go.jp/resources/pdf/next-generation-storage-batteries-motors/item-001-1/vision-nissan-004.pdf

9. Claim-to-source audit

Claim in the articleCategorySource
Full name, headquarters, establishment, supervising minister, 1,640 staff, ¥505.2 billion budget, ¥11.37 trillion in fund budgets and their breakdownSourcedReference 1 https://www.nedo.go.jp/introducing/kihon.html
SOLiD-Next project period, FY2026 budget of ¥1.85 billion and R&D contentSourcedReference 2 https://www.nedo.go.jp/activities/ZZJP_100257.html
SOLiD-EV project period, FY2022 budget of ¥2.149 billion and test methods developed with international standardisation in mindSourcedReference 3 https://www.nedo.go.jp/activities/ZZJP_100146.html
The battery project's ¥151 billion total, 18 themes, a call based on the ministry's plan and up to ten years of supportSourcedReference 4 https://www.nedo.go.jp/news/press/AA5_101535.html
The target of at least twice today's energy density (700 to 800 Wh/L or more), the awardees and their theme titles, and Toyota's absence from the listSourcedReference 5 https://green-innovation.nedo.go.jp/project/next-generation-storage-batteries-motors/scheme/
Honda's grant of about ¥20 billion (FY2022 to FY2026)SourcedReference 6 https://global.honda/jp/investors/library/road_show/main/00/teaserItems3/01/linkList/03/link/FYE202503_Honda_Demonstration_Production_Line_for_All-Solid-State_Batteries_j.pdf
Nissan's total project cost of about ¥15.3 billion, government share of about ¥11.4 billion and FY2028 market launchSourcedReference 7 https://green-innovation.nedo.go.jp/resources/pdf/next-generation-storage-batteries-motors/item-001-1/vision-nissan-004.pdf
The four types of institutionOur calculationOur own classification
The selection of solid-state related themesOur calculationOur own selection from the theme titles in reference 5
The total spent on solid-state batteries aloneNot yet confirmedNot stated in references 1 to 5; this article does not estimate it
Amounts allocated to awardees other than Honda and NissanNot yet confirmedNot stated in reference 5; this article does not estimate them
The three points in the outlook (section 6)InferenceThis article's reading of the periods and aims in references 2, 3, 6 and 7

Last updated 23 September 2026 / Troy Technical
All figures come from NEDO's website and press releases and from documents published or filed by the funded companies. Items marked "Inference" are this article's reading of the primary information, not statements by NEDO.

🌐 Japanese