TECHNOLOGY EXPLAINER
Drone Regulation and Airspace Management
— “Where, by whom and under what conditions can a drone fly?”, and how to read the stage of a rule (proposed, final, in force)
News about drone regulation is full of terms such as “proposed rule”, “final rule”, “in force”, “approval” and “added to the Covered List”. These are stages with different legal meanings, and mixing them up leads to misreading. This article is written for materials engineers with no background in aviation law. It sorts out, as far as official documents allow us to confirm, (1) what regulators look at (aircraft, pilot, operation), (2) the United States (FAA Part 107, the proposed Part 108, Remote ID), (3) Europe (the three EASA categories), (4) Japan (the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, MLIT, and “level 4”), (5) the addition of foreign-produced drones to the FCC Covered List (December 2025) and (6) drone traffic management (UTM).
This article does not rank countries and gives no legal advice. Stages and dates are given exactly as the Federal Register and authorities state them. Checked on 25 October 2026.
- Three-line summary / Before you read / Place in the series
- What regulators look at: aircraft, pilot, operation
- Steps by risk
- The United States: Part 107, Remote ID and the proposed Part 108
- Europe: the three EASA categories
- Japan: registration, airframe certification, pilot certificate and level 4
- The FCC Covered List and foreign-produced drones
- Traffic management (UTM)
- A materials engineer’s view, and what we could not confirm
- How to read the yardsticks and standards / Glossary / References / Claim-to-source audit
Sourced = stated in a published source (link given)
Our calculation = an arrangement made by this article
Not yet confirmed = proposed rules, plans, targets and other things not yet settled
Our own readings are marked as commentary, and Inference is shown in bold.
A proposed rule has no legal force yet. Even when a final rule is published in the Federal Register, its effective date is set separately. The FCC Covered List is a separate, statute-based mechanism, different from export controls and from flight rules. This article is not legal advice. For actual operation, import or sale, check the text of the rules and the latest guidance of the authority. We do not intend to blame any country or company; we use the words of the official documents and keep a neutral tone.
1. Three-line summary / Before you read / Place in the series
- Regulation looks at three things, “aircraft, pilot and operation”, in proportion to risk: the US builds on the small-drone rule (Part 107) and has proposed a new beyond-visual-line-of-sight rule (Part 108); Europe uses three categories, “open, specific and certified”; Japan combines registration, airframe certification, pilot certificates and flight permissions, and made level 4 possible on 5 December 2022 [References 1, 4, 9, 11]. Sourced
- Part 108 was still only a proposal on the check date: a proposed rule (90 FR 38212) was published on 7 August 2025 and its comment period was reopened on 28 January 2026, but we found no final rule in the Federal Register [References 4, 5, 6]. Not yet confirmed
- On 22 December 2025 the FCC added foreign-produced unmanned aircraft systems and critical components to the Covered List: coverage depends on the place of production and affects authorisation of new device models. Blue UAS, domestic end products and conditionally approved devices have since been exempted step by step, and the current end date of the Blue UAS and domestic-end-product exemptions is 1 January 2028 [References 18-24]. Sourced
All you need is the feeling that even roads have driving licences, vehicle inspection, number plates and traffic rules. Drones too have aircraft inspection (like a vehicle inspection), pilot qualification (a licence), registration and Remote ID (a number plate) and flight permission (where you may drive), each separate (limit of the analogy: the sky is three-dimensional, and drones fly beyond sight).
The technology of Remote ID and beyond-visual-line-of-sight flight is in “Drone Communication, Positioning and Collision Avoidance”, an example of delivery rules in “Drone Logistics”, certification of passenger-carrying aircraft in “eVTOL and Air Taxis”, and national policy and supply chains in “National Robotics and Drone Strategies and Supply Chains”. This article covers rules and airspace mechanisms.
2. What regulators look at: aircraft, pilot, operation
Regulators look at three things. (1) The aircraft (weight, safety standard, registration, identification), (2) the pilot (qualification or skill) and (3) the operation (where and how it flies, and whether permission is needed). Fig. 2 lines up what official documents of three regions say.
Registration records who owns the aircraft (like a car’s plate number). Certification inspects whether the design or performance meets the standards (like a vehicle inspection or type approval). Permission or approval is an individual authorisation for a particular flight (where and when you may drive). Pilot certification (a licence) concerns the pilot. When news says “certified” or “approved”, check which one it means.
3. Steps by risk
All three regions follow the idea that the riskier the flight, the heavier the requirements (Fig. 3). But the names and numbers of steps are not the same.
MLIT’s handbook (2021 edition) describes flight forms, from highest risk, as category III (specified flight without access control under the flight path, that is, specified flight over third parties), II (specified flight with access control) and I (flight that is not specified flight, needing no permission procedure under the Civil Aeronautics Act) [Reference 17]. Sourced EASA divides operations into open (no prior authorisation or declaration), specific (an operational authorisation based on an operational risk assessment) and certified (certification of the aircraft, a licensed remote pilot and an approved operator) [Reference 9]. Sourced
4. The United States: Part 107, Remote ID and the proposed Part 108
(1) The basis: Part 107 (the small-drone rule)
On 28 June 2016 the FAA published a final rule on the operation of small unmanned aircraft (under 55 lb including cargo) and the certification of their remote pilots (81 FR 42064), effective 29 August 2016 [Reference 1]. The main operating limits include a groundspeed of 87 knots or less, an altitude of 400 ft or less and a flight visibility of at least 3 statute miles [Reference 7]. Sourced On 15 January 2021 a final rule was published that allows operations at night and over people under conditions (86 FR 4314) [Reference 2]. Sourced
(2) Remote ID (Part 89)
The Remote ID final rule was published on 15 January 2021 (86 FR 4390) [Reference 3]. The operator compliance deadline was 16 September 2023 (the technology is in “Drone Communication, Positioning and Collision Avoidance”). Sourced
(3) The proposed rule for beyond visual line of sight: Part 108
On 7 August 2025 the FAA published a performance-based proposed rule for low-altitude beyond-visual-line-of-sight (BVLOS) operations and for third-party services that support them, including UTM (90 FR 38212) [Reference 4]. Sourced The outline of the proposal is in Fig. 5.
According to the proposal, it would cover unmanned aircraft weighing up to 1,320 lb with anything attached, with weight limits per type of operation. It would not require airman certificates but would require an operations supervisor and flight coordinators. Operations would yield to aircraft broadcasting ADS-B Out, require strategic deconfliction in some areas, and require detection of cooperative and non-cooperative aircraft in controlled airspace. A path to approve automated data service providers that support operations (Part 146) is also proposed [Reference 4]. Sourced Not yet confirmed The comment period was reopened on 28 January 2026 (on electronic conspicuity and right-of-way), and on 10 February 2026 a request to extend it was denied [References 5, 6]. As of the check date we found no final rule in the Federal Register. We do not state when it may be finalised or what it will contain, because we could not confirm it.
What is actually true: a proposed rule (NPRM) is a stage for collecting comments and has no legal force. Only after a final rule is published and its effective date arrives does it become an obligation. When an aircraft or operation advertises “Part 108 ready”, remember that it is ready for a proposed rule whose final content may change.
5. Europe: the three EASA categories
EASA (the European Union Aviation Safety Agency) proposed an operation-centric, risk- and performance-based framework for all unmanned aircraft. It divides operations into open, specific and certified categories, with requirements that vary with risk [Reference 9]. Sourced In the specific category, tools such as the Specific Operations Risk Assessment (SORA) and standard scenarios (STS) are used. The regulations include Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/947, Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/945 and the U-space regulation (EU) 2021/664 [Reference 10]. Sourced As a description from the time of the proposal, the EASA page says that drone class labels (from C0) are combined with the CE mark, and that operators register except for drones under 250 g without a camera [Reference 9]. For the latest details of the rules, check the EU’s Official Journal and EASA’s latest documents.
6. Japan: registration, airframe certification, pilot certificate and level 4
Japan’s MLIT made registration of unmanned aircraft mandatory on 20 June 2022 [Reference 16]. In the 2021 handbook, all unmanned aircraft of 100 g or more are subject to registration [Reference 17]. Sourced From 5 December 2022 the systems of airframe certification, pilot competence certificates and operating rules started, and in addition to levels 1-3 (categories I and II), level 4 (category III), which is beyond-visual-line-of-sight flight over populated areas (over third parties) without observers, became possible. Level 4 requires a class 1 airframe certification, a class 1 pilot competence certificate, permission and approval for the flight, and compliance with the operating rules [Reference 11]. Sourced
- Airframe certification: a system that inspects whether the design, manufacturing process and current state meet safety standards for the strength, structure and performance of an aircraft; there are class 1 and class 2, and also type certification [Reference 13].
- Pilot competence certificate: class 1 and class 2, valid for 3 years; renewal needs a course and a physical-fitness check [Reference 12].
- First cases: MLIT granted Japan’s first class 1 type certification to an aircraft of ACSL on 13 March 2023, and gave the first permission and approval for level 4 flight to Japan Post on 17 March 2023 [References 14, 15]. Sourced
The handbook (2021 edition) states that flying in airspace 150 m or more above the ground, or around airports, is in principle prohibited and requires permission [Reference 17]. For the latest conditions, check MLIT’s current guidance.
7. The FCC Covered List and foreign-produced drones
So far we have covered rules on “how to fly”. There is another kind of rule: authorisation before equipment is placed on the market. The FCC (Federal Communications Commission) authorises radio-emitting equipment before it is marketed. The FCC’s Covered List lists equipment and services judged to pose an unacceptable risk to national security; covered equipment can no longer receive a new equipment authorisation. The FCC can update the list only on the basis of determinations by national-security authorities [References 18, 19]. Sourced
The national security determination the FCC received on 21 December 2025 concluded that unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) and UAS critical components produced in a foreign country pose an unacceptable risk to US national security and to the safety and security of US persons. It lists, as critical components, data transmission devices, communications systems, flight controllers, ground control stations, controllers, navigation systems, batteries, smart batteries and motors. On 22 December 2025 the FCC added them to the Covered List (DA 25-1086) [Reference 18]. Sourced
- Scope: the FCC explains that coverage depends on the place of production, not on the producer’s nationality. It affects equipment authorisation of new device models, and does not affect the use or sale of equipment previously acquired or authorised [References 18, 19]. Sourced
- Exemptions: On 7 January 2026 (DA 26-22) equipment on the Blue UAS Cleared List of a US Department of Defense (Department of War) agency, and domestic end products under the Buy American Standard, were exempted. The initial end date was 1 January 2027, but on 21 July 2026 (DA 26-761) the end date was changed to 1 January 2028 (current). On 18 March 2026 (DA 26-253) the first conditionally approved devices were exempted, and DA 26-761 removed the 31 December 2026 end date for conditional approvals (an approval depends on the applicant following the onshoring plan in its application; if it does not, the device returns to the list). On 15 June 2026 (DA 26-588) toy drones were removed, and on 2 October 2026 (DA 26-1063) an update on conditional approvals was published [References 20-24]. Sourced
- Other equipment: DA 26-1063 states that foreign-produced routers (23 March 2026) and advanced robotic devices (28 July 2026) were also added to the same list [Reference 24].
What is actually true: the Covered List concerns equipment authorisation (approval to market radio-emitting devices); the FCC explains that it does not ban flying drones that people already have [Reference 19]. Sourced It does, however, affect the sale and import of new models. It is a different system from flight rules (such as FAA Part 107), so check which system is being discussed. This article does not evaluate any particular country or company.
8. Traffic management (UTM)
As more drones fly in low airspace, coordination among aircraft and with crewed aircraft is needed. The FAA describes UTM (unmanned aircraft system traffic management) as “a collaborative ecosystem for safely managing unmanned aircraft operations at low altitudes”, listing functions such as flight planning, authorization, surveillance and conflict management [Reference 8]. Sourced
The main channel is not voice between pilots and controllers but APIs (interfaces for exchanging information) between automated systems. The FAA’s “NTAP” is not a certification process: it evaluates the safety value of a service so that operators can receive safety credit when seeking waivers or exemptions. In Europe, U-space (Regulation (EU) 2021/664) is the corresponding framework [References 8, 10]. Sourced For the latest state in each country, check the authority’s latest guidance.
9. A materials engineer’s view, and what we could not confirm
Japan’s airframe certification inspects whether the design, manufacturing process and current state meet safety standards for strength, structure and performance [Reference 13]. For a materials engineer, this means that material specifications (strength, fatigue, weather resistance) and variation in manufacturing (consistency of performance lot to lot) become evidence in the inspection (commentary). How to show the effect on aircraft performance and certification when a material or process is changed is a shared challenge for material makers and aircraft makers.
The FCC’s determination names batteries, smart batteries and motors as UAS critical components [Reference 18]. Sourced Since coverage depends on the place of production, it can be read that the origin of components, and of the materials and parts inside them, may bear on whether equipment authorisation is possible (commentary; check the text for any individual case). The concentration of battery materials (cathode, anode, electrolyte) and motor magnets (see “Permanent Magnets and Rare Earths”) is covered in “National Robotics and Drone Strategies and Supply Chains”.
Rules constrain aircraft design through weight classes (55 lb, 1,320 lb, 100 g, 250 g), noise and identification. An upper weight limit, for example, directly sets the value of lightweight materials (commentary). The proposed Part 108 includes a noise approach and proposes accepting airworthiness using industry consensus standards [Reference 4]. Sourced Not yet confirmed
What we could not confirm
- When Part 108 will be finalised, and its final content.
- The details of the latest amendments to EU rules (the EUR-Lex text could not be retrieved directly; we relied on EASA pages).
- The details of Japan’s latest operating rules (the handbook is the 2021 edition; check MLIT for the latest guidance).
- The latest state of Covered List updates (checked up to the notice of 2 October 2026) and whether any individual device is covered.
- The FCC notice of 22 June 2026 (DA 26-616; its existence was confirmed from the description in DA 26-761, text not read).
- The systems of other countries (such as China and South Korea).
- The current editions of the ISO 21384 series (the ISO pages could not be opened directly). ASTM standards were not consulted.
10. How to read the yardsticks and standards
The “yardsticks” of regulation are the stage of a rule (proposed, final, in force), the scope of application (weight, place, type of operation) and the type of approval (registration, certification, permission, qualification). Even when called “regulation”, a rule with binding legal force is different from a voluntary standard or guideline.
| What is measured | Typical test or benchmark (name, source) | Standard, rule or guidance (name, source checked) | Reading note |
|---|---|---|---|
| US: basic rules | Not confirmed | 14 CFR Part 107 (81 FR 42064), night and over people (86 FR 4314) [References 1, 2, 7] Sourced | Covers small UA (under 55 lb); visual line of sight by default |
| US: identification | Not confirmed | 14 CFR Part 89 Remote ID (86 FR 4390) [Reference 3] Sourced | A final rule. Technology in “Drone Communication, Positioning and Collision Avoidance” |
| US: beyond visual line of sight | Not confirmed | Proposed Parts 108 and 146 (90 FR 38212) [Reference 4] Sourced Not yet confirmed | A proposal. No final rule was found as of the check date |
| Europe | Not confirmed | Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/947, Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/945, U-space (EU) 2021/664 (list on the EASA page) [References 9, 10] Sourced | EUR-Lex text not checked directly. SORA is a method for assessing operational risk |
| Japan | Not confirmed | Registration, airframe certification, pilot certificates and flight permissions under the Civil Aeronautics Act (MLIT portals) [References 11-13, 16] Sourced | Check MLIT for the latest operating rules. The handbook is the 2021 edition |
| Placing equipment on the market (US) | Not confirmed | FCC Covered List: DA 25-1086, DA 26-22, DA 26-253, DA 26-761, DA 26-588, DA 26-1063 [References 18-24] Sourced | An equipment authorisation mechanism, separate from flight rules. Exemptions and updates continue |
| Traffic management | Not confirmed | FAA UTM (NTAP), EU U-space [References 8, 10] Sourced | NTAP is not a certification. Systems are still maturing in each country |
| International standards | Not confirmed | ISO 21384 series (UAS; current editions not confirmed) / ASTM standards were not consulted | An international standard is voluntary; legal force depends on national adoption (commentary) |
The arrangement of the table is Our calculation (organisation). Names and status were checked in the Federal Register and on official authority pages (checked 25 October 2026).
Reading notes (for materials engineers)
- Separate proposed, final and in force: when you hear “a rule has been made”, check which stage.
- Check which system is meant: flight rules (FAA, MLIT), placing equipment on the market (FCC) and export controls are different systems.
- Do not treat steps in different regions as the same step: as Fig. 3 shows, the names and numbers of steps differ.
- Rules change: check the state with the date and document number, and check the authority’s latest guidance.
11. Glossary
- Part 107
- US rules for small unmanned aircraft (under 55 lb).
- Part 108
- The FAA’s proposed BVLOS rule (no final rule as of the check date).
- Part 146
- Proposed rule for automated data service providers supporting drone operations.
- NPRM
- Notice of proposed rulemaking: a proposal with no legal force yet.
- Final rule
- A rule published in the Federal Register; the effective date is set separately.
- Waiver / exemption
- Permission to depart from part of a rule under conditions.
- Remote ID
- A system in which an aircraft broadcasts its identity and position.
- UTM
- Unmanned aircraft system traffic management.
- U-space
- The European framework comparable to UTM (Regulation (EU) 2021/664).
- SORA
- Specific operations risk assessment, a method for assessing operational risk.
- Open / specific / certified
- EASA’s three operational categories; requirements grow with risk.
- Level 4
- In Japan, beyond-visual-line-of-sight flight over populated areas without observers.
- Airframe certification
- Japanese system that inspects an aircraft’s strength, structure and performance.
- Type certification
- Approval of an aircraft type design.
- Pilot competence certificate
- Japanese qualification for unmanned aircraft pilots (class 1 and 2).
- Covered List
- The FCC list of equipment and services found to pose unacceptable national security risks.
- Equipment authorization
- FCC approval a radio-emitting device needs before it is marketed.
- Blue UAS
- A list of drones vetted by a US Department of Defense agency.
- Conditional approval
- Approval by the Department of War or DHS that exempts a device on conditions such as an onshoring plan.
- ADS-B
- A system in which aircraft broadcast their position.
12. References (primary sources)
- Federal Register (FAA) Operation and Certification of Small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (Part 107), 81 FR 42064 (28 June 2016; effective 29 August 2016) — www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/06/28/2016-15079/operation-and-certification-of-small-un
- Federal Register (FAA) Operation of Small Unmanned Aircraft Systems Over People, 86 FR 4314 (15 January 2021) — www.federalregister.gov/documents/2021/01/15/2020-28947/operation-of-small-unmanned-aircraft-sy
- Federal Register (FAA) Remote Identification of Unmanned Aircraft, 86 FR 4390 (15 January 2021; final rule, 14 CFR Part 89) — www.federalregister.gov/documents/2021/01/15/2020-28948/remote-identification-of-unmanned-aircr
- Federal Register (FAA) Normalizing Unmanned Aircraft Systems Beyond Visual Line of Sight Operations, 90 FR 38212 (7 August 2025; proposed Part 108 and Part 146) — www.federalregister.gov/documents/2025/08/07/2025-14992/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-b
- Federal Register (FAA) Same proposed rule; reopening of comment period, 91 FR 3695 (28 January 2026) — www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/01/28/2026-01644/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-b
- Federal Register (FAA) Same proposed rule; denial of extension, 91 FR 5880 (10 February 2026) — www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/02/10/2026-02649/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-b
- US eCFR 14 CFR 107.51 Operating limitations for small unmanned aircraft; 107.3 definitions (under 55 lb) — www.ecfr.gov/current/title-14/part-107/section-107.51
- FAA Unmanned Aircraft System Traffic Management (UTM) (collaborative ecosystem; NTAP is not a certification process) — www.faa.gov/uas/advanced_operations/traffic_management
- EASA Drones – regulatory framework background (open, specific and certified categories) — www.easa.europa.eu/en/domains/civil-drones/drones-regulatory-framework-background
- EASA Drones & Air Mobility (list of regulations: (EU) 2019/947, 2019/945, U-space (EU) 2021/664; SORA, STS and others) — www.easa.europa.eu/en/domains/civil-drones
- MLIT (Japan) Unmanned Aircraft Level 4 Portal (from 5 December 2022; airframe certification, pilot licence, operating rules) (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/koku/level4/
- MLIT (Japan) Unmanned aircraft pilot competence certificate (validity 3 years) (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/koku/level4/license/
- MLIT (Japan) Airframe certification (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/koku/certification.html
- MLIT (Japan) First Class 1 type certification for level 4 flight (13 March 2023) (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/report/press/kouku11_hh_000106.html
- MLIT (Japan) First permission and approval for level 4 flight (17 March 2023) (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/report/press/kouku10_hh_000231.html
- MLIT (Japan) Unmanned aircraft registration portal (registration mandatory from 20 June 2022) (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/koku/drone/
- MLIT (Japan) Flight rules for unmanned aircraft under the Civil Aeronautics Act (2021 edition; registration of 100 g or more; categories I-III) (in Japanese) — www.mlit.go.jp/koku/content/001427317.pdf
- FCC DA 25-1086 (22 December 2025; addition of UAS and UAS critical components produced in foreign countries to the Covered List) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-25-1086A1.pdf
- FCC Fact Sheet: FCC Updates Covered List to Include Foreign UAS and UAS Critical Components (22 December 2025) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DOC-416839A1.pdf
- FCC DA 26-22 (7 January 2026; exemption for the Blue UAS Cleared List and domestic end products; initial end date 1 January 2027, later changed to 1 January 2028 by DA 26-761) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-22A1.pdf
- FCC DA 26-253 (18 March 2026; first conditional approvals exempted) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-253A1.pdf
- FCC DA 26-761 (21 July 2026; exemptions for the Blue UAS Cleared List and domestic end products now run until 1 January 2028; end date of 31 December 2026 for conditional approvals removed) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-761A1.pdf
- FCC DA 26-588 (15 June 2026; toy drones removed from the Covered List) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-588A1.pdf
- FCC DA 26-1063 (2 October 2026; conditional approvals and exemptions; history of updates from January to July 2026) — docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-1063A1.pdf
13. Claim-to-source audit
| Claim in the text | Basis | Type |
|---|---|---|
| FAA Part 107 (small UAS) final rule: 28 June 2016 (81 FR 42064), effective 29 August 2016 | Federal Register Reference 1 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/06/28/2016-15079/operation-and-certification-of-small-unmanned-aircraft-systems | Sourced |
| Operations over people and at night: final rule of 15 January 2021 (86 FR 4314), effective 16 March 2021 | Federal Register Reference 2 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2021/01/15/2020-28947/operation-of-small-unmanned-aircraft-systems-over-people | Sourced |
| Small UA under 55 lb including cargo, 87 knots, 400 ft, flight visibility of 3 statute miles | eCFR Reference 7 https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-14/part-107/section-107.51 | Sourced |
| Remote ID final rule: 15 January 2021 (86 FR 4390) | Federal Register Reference 3 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2021/01/15/2020-28948/remote-identification-of-unmanned-aircraft | Sourced |
| Part 108 proposed rule: 7 August 2025 (90 FR 38212); up to 1,320 lb; two tiers (permit and certificate); operations supervisor and flight coordinators instead of airman certificates; yield to ADS-B Out traffic; strategic deconfliction; Part 146 automated data service providers | Federal Register (proposed rule; no legal force yet) Reference 4 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2025/08/07/2025-14992/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-beyond-visual-line-of-sight-operations | Sourced |
| Part 108 comment period reopened 28 January 2026; extension denied 10 February 2026; no final rule found in the Federal Register as of the check date | Federal Register (search on the check date) Reference 5 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/01/28/2026-01644/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-beyond-visual-line-of-sight-operations-reopening-of-comment-period Reference 6 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/02/10/2026-02649/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-beyond-visual-line-of-sight-operations-reopening-of-comment | Sourced |
| UTM is a collaborative ecosystem for managing low-altitude drone operations; NTAP is not a certification process | FAA page Reference 8 https://www.faa.gov/uas/advanced_operations/traffic_management | Sourced |
| EASA divides operations into open, specific and certified categories with requirements proportionate to risk | EASA page Reference 9 https://www.easa.europa.eu/en/domains/civil-drones/drones-regulatory-framework-background | Sourced |
| EU regulations: Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/947, Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/945, U-space Regulation (EU) 2021/664 | Regulation list on the EASA page Reference 10 https://www.easa.europa.eu/en/domains/civil-drones | Sourced |
| Japan: from 5 December 2022 airframe certification, pilot certificates and operating rules started, making level 4 possible | MLIT Reference 11 https://www.mlit.go.jp/koku/level4/ | Sourced |
| Japan: pilot competence certificate valid for 3 years | MLIT Reference 12 https://www.mlit.go.jp/koku/level4/license/ | Sourced |
| Japan: airframe certification inspects strength, structure and performance; class 1 and 2, and type certification | MLIT Reference 13 https://www.mlit.go.jp/koku/certification.html | Sourced |
| Japan: first class 1 type certification (13 March 2023) and first level 4 permission (17 March 2023) | MLIT press releases Reference 14 https://www.mlit.go.jp/report/press/kouku11_hh_000106.html Reference 15 https://www.mlit.go.jp/report/press/kouku10_hh_000231.html | Sourced |
| Japan: registration mandatory from 20 June 2022; aircraft of 100 g or more (2021 handbook) | MLIT Reference 16 https://www.mlit.go.jp/koku/drone/ Reference 17 https://www.mlit.go.jp/koku/content/001427317.pdf | Sourced |
| Japan: operations classified by risk into categories I, II and III (III: specified flight over third parties) | MLIT handbook (2021 edition) Reference 17 https://www.mlit.go.jp/koku/content/001427317.pdf | Sourced |
| On 22 December 2025 the FCC added UAS and UAS critical components produced in foreign countries to the Covered List (DA 25-1086), based on a national security determination of 21 December 2025 | FCC public notice Reference 18 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-25-1086A1.pdf | Sourced |
| Coverage depends on the place of production, not the producer’s nationality; it affects new device authorisations, and the FCC says it does not affect use or sale of previously acquired or authorised models | FCC notice and fact sheet Reference 18 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-25-1086A1.pdf Reference 19 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DOC-416839A1.pdf | Sourced |
| The determination lists data transmission devices, communications systems, flight controllers, ground control stations, controllers, navigation systems, batteries, smart batteries and motors as examples of critical components | FCC notice (quoted determination) Reference 18 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-25-1086A1.pdf | Sourced |
| 7 January 2026 (DA 26-22): Blue UAS Cleared List and domestic end products exempted (initial end date 1 January 2027); on 21 July 2026 (DA 26-761) the end date was changed to 1 January 2028, the current end date | FCC notices Reference 20 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-22A1.pdf Reference 22 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-761A1.pdf | Sourced |
| 18 March 2026 (DA 26-253): first conditional approvals exempted; DA 26-761 removed the 31 December 2026 end date for conditional approvals (conditional on following the onshoring plan) | FCC notices Reference 21 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-253A1.pdf Reference 22 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-761A1.pdf | Sourced |
| 15 June 2026 (DA 26-588): toy drones removed; 2 October 2026 (DA 26-1063): conditionally approved devices exempt, conditional on following an onshoring plan | FCC notices Reference 23 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-588A1.pdf Reference 24 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-1063A1.pdf | Sourced |
| The Covered List also added routers on 23 March 2026 and advanced robotic devices on 28 July 2026 (as stated in DA 26-1063) | FCC notice Reference 24 https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-1063A1.pdf | Sourced |
| The comparison of systems (Figs. 2 and 3) is an arrangement of what official documents say, not a judgement of superiority or equivalence | Our arrangement (commentary) | Our calculation |
Last updated: 25 October 2026 / Sources are limited to primary sources (the Federal Register, eCFR, the FAA, EASA, MLIT and the FCC). The timing and content of the Part 108 final rule, the latest amendments to EU rules, the details of Japan’s latest operating rules, determinations on individual devices under the Covered List, the text of FCC notice DA 26-616, the systems of other countries, the current editions of the ISO 21384 series and ASTM standards could not be confirmed and are therefore not stated. This article is not legal advice and does not rank countries. It does not intend to blame any country or company. Weapons are not covered.

